PDA

View Full Version : well water, do i need RODI?



sarmo
11-06-2006, 04:53 PM
i live in a remote area. i have a 965 ft deep well. yes, it cost as much as the property:mad:
i am looking to find out if i need to continue using RODI? we have a local water testing facility that can test for inpurities to the ppb level. so if i take a water sample to them, what should i test for so that i know the water is okay to mix with IO with out going through the RODI?
i am keeping SPS and fish.
thanks

Boomer
11-06-2006, 05:03 PM
pH, Alk, Ca++, Mg ++, lead, iron, silica, phosphate, copper, potassium, chloride, sodium, sulfates, nitrate, aluminium,TDS or conductivity in uS.

With well water you almost always need a RO/DI

sryder
11-06-2006, 08:04 PM
I also have well water that is high in impuruties. ro is the way to go. the ph is around a 5.5 strait from my well. I make sure I aerate my water for a day or 2 to raise the ph.

sarmo
11-06-2006, 09:10 PM
thanks Boomer,

i know the alk, calcium and pH are high but don't know about the others. it just seems funny to use RODI then turn around and add baking soda and calcium chloride to get the levels to where i want them if some of that stuff is already in the well water.

do i really need to test for alk, calcium and pH if i'm going to adjust them anyway? TDS is 400 something with a little hand held but that's because my water is so "hard".

any other thoughts?

balogh03
11-06-2006, 09:20 PM
i am going to listen in on this, becuase i am running off of a well aswell but i dont have a RO/DI.

i am looking for one though

MikeS
11-06-2006, 09:38 PM
Well water is just like any other water source, it differs from area to area...the key is to avoid the nasties like phospate, nitrate, silica, iron, copper, lead, ect, and whatever else bad may be in the water....

Boomer gave you a pretty good list, have them test the water for those things...

MikeS

Boomer
11-06-2006, 10:22 PM
Yup MIke :D

sarmo
11-06-2006, 11:28 PM
so is there a chart somewhere that would let me know what acceptable levels of all that stuff is? i know nitrates and phosphates should be 0 and copper should be low but what about the others?

thanks for the advice,
rob

DonW
11-07-2006, 11:15 AM
so is there a chart somewhere that would let me know what acceptable levels of all that stuff is? i know nitrates and phosphates should be 0 and copper should be low but what about the others?

thanks for the advice,
rob

If you can get everything as close to 0 as possible it will make your life much easier and you tank happier. I know extra ca and mg sounds good but your not going to get the good without the bad.
Most labs will do drinking water test but will only give you total metals. You will have to ask for a metals only test to get a break down of the metals and thats going to be expensive.

Don

sarmo
11-07-2006, 09:20 PM
your right about the price. if i did the math right it will cost about $216 for the list that Boomer gave me. it is about $15 per item.

CCR
11-07-2006, 09:38 PM
your right about the price. if i did the math right it will cost about $216 for the list that Boomer gave me. it is about $15 per item.


At that, I would keep the ro/di going. Ya will be consistant at least