PDA

View Full Version : Fluidized Reactors



Macbeth417
04-28-2004, 12:04 AM
I was just wondering how many of you use fluidized reactors on your tanks for phosphate reduction, carbon ect....
Is something you would recommend? Personally, I am not yet in need of one persay, but I think any reduncy to limit phophates or help out when I use carbon would be a boon.

I'm thinking of purchasing one such as this or perhaps seeing if Reeffan or someone could make me one:
http://www.northcoastmarines.com/pics/NEWReactorCMYK.JPG

Also, I was scheming, as usual, and was wondering if there is any reason I couldn't place a pad in the middle of the reactor and use Carbon in one half and Phosban*ect in the other half?

Anyone, anyone Bueller... Bueller.... :lol:

-Erik

Macbeth417
04-28-2004, 12:14 AM
I also had someone tell me that open oxygenated trickle type methods were the best way to use such media. I am from the school that taught one to force water through thier media and can't think of any rational for this other recommendation.

I will hunt around and see what I can find...


Oh, and Nikki, since I know you are reading this...

How do you think ORP relates... heheh j/k :lol:

-Erik

reeffan
04-28-2004, 10:41 AM
Erick, im in the process of making couple of this units (FLUIDIZED REACTOR) for Salsa king and im just finishing one for Paul Hamby (AKA Fragman). Im not sure yet how its going to turn out but i'll find out as soon as we set this baby up.

reeffan

Macbeth417
04-28-2004, 12:31 PM
Welp if it's anything like your other work Im sure they will be outstanding. I think for the phose reactor though I may just go with that one I PM'd you. That is a screaming deal. However I may have you make me one for carbon.

-Erik

reeffan
04-28-2004, 12:48 PM
Yeah, that was a very good deal. For the carbon....i think i need something to copy so i can make the unit ( i have not seen one yet).

reeffan

Macbeth417
04-28-2004, 02:12 PM
Jonathan,
I'll give you a call after work.


So no opinions on these units and thier relative worth in a reeftank?


-Erik

DonW
04-28-2004, 09:33 PM
Eric,

For that price you could buy two. I use two diy units running fulltime. You can run them in series, carbon first then rowa. Add a bypass "t" to shut down the rowa if you dont want to run it full time. Just dont use pads or sponges in the carbon they plug up quickly.

Don

reeffan
04-29-2004, 09:55 AM
Erick, i lost your number. Can you PM me your number?

reeffan

NaH2O
04-29-2004, 01:57 PM
Oh, and Nikki, since I know you are reading this...


LOL! I'm that predictable?

I'm really interested in learning how they work. The mouse on the wheel in my brain slows down when it comes to equipment such as this, so any explaination would help.

DonW
04-30-2004, 10:07 AM
Nikki

They are a very simple device. They have a tube that goes down the center through a perferated disc an inch or so off the bottom.
The water flows down hits the bottom then comes back up through the media, then over-flows out the top. You adjust the fluidizing by adjusting the outflow of the pump. Very simple but work great. You really get the full use of all the surface area of the Rowa Phos material.

Don

NaH2O
04-30-2004, 10:49 AM
Thanks, Don!!

reeffan
05-12-2004, 01:51 PM
Erick, this is just an update. I manage to finish the Phosphate/Carbon Reactor this week with the help of MOJO ( I got the ideas from him=). Its a dual chamber with 6 OD" X18" tube use to fluidized Phosphate and Carbon. I was actually ask by SalsaKing to make this unit for him. Im not quite sure how will turn out but hopefully this week SalsaKing would be able to hook this unit and give us an update on the reactor. Peace...

reeffan
http://www.reeffrontiers.com/photos_members/data/500/314PhospateReactor.JPG

reeffan
05-12-2004, 01:53 PM
Here's a closer picture.....
http://www.reeffrontiers.com/photos_members/data/500/314PhospateReactor2.JPG

reeffan
05-12-2004, 01:54 PM
Side View....

reeffan
http://www.reeffrontiers.com/photos_members/data/500/314PhospateReactor3.JPG

Macbeth417
05-13-2004, 12:19 AM
Looks great as usual Jonathan,

Let me know when to head down to Kent for that mag. I should be free most evenings this week.

Talk to you soon bud,

-Erik

reeffan
05-13-2004, 09:31 AM
Thanks....I kinda excited about how this reactor. We'll just wait and see.

I should have the MAG this week. I'll will give you a call this weekend.....

reeffan

bc_slc
05-13-2004, 11:25 AM
reeffan, what is the pump you have running that setup? i.e. about what rate of circulation do you have running through the chambers?

And, if I get this right, you plan on carbon one side, phosphate binder-of-some-sort the other side?

mojoreef
05-13-2004, 12:57 PM
Johnathan you need to have another plate and sponge on the top of the unit to. If not you will get to much of the rowa going though the out put.


Mike

reeffan
05-13-2004, 03:23 PM
Originally posted by bc_slc
reeffan, what is the pump you have running that setup? i.e. about what rate of circulation do you have running through the chambers?

And, if I get this right, you plan on carbon one side, phosphate binder-of-some-sort the other side?

We are using a MAG2 Pump for now. According to MOJO this pump should be enough to regulate water flow on both chamber. If not, we can always upgrade the pump size.

And yes, the first chamber would be for Phosphate and the other side will be for the carbon. If you notice both chamber has its own chack valve and its own water out-put. Hope this helps you.... :p

reeffan

reeffan
05-13-2004, 03:26 PM
Originally posted by mojoreef
Johnathan you need to have another plate and sponge on the top of the unit to. If not you will get to much of the rowa going though the out put.


Mike

Thanks for cathcing that one....i will go ahead and insert couple more sponge for the top.

reeffan
:p :D