PDA

View Full Version : Radioshack Power Inverters..



Ed Hahn
11-15-2004, 09:31 AM
I saw a neat inverter in this months Radioshack flyer. My question is...Has anyone ever used a inverter to power a powerhead, Air pump, heater in a cooler for transporting animals?

DonW
11-15-2004, 10:41 AM
Ed,
Inverters are great for that kind of thing. Just do not use a large heater. I would say less than 75w heater. On late model obd2 vehicles ecu will see the excess draw and turn on the check engine lamp. Some will even start turning other things like heat off to make up for it.

Don

Katchupoy
11-15-2004, 06:39 PM
How much... Check also some from walmart... they have cheap inverters... also at Frys too...

jlehigh
11-15-2004, 06:41 PM
I used a 700w inverter during an outage on my 46gal to run 175w MH, 40W return pump, and 250W heater... worked great!

dwall174
01-01-2005, 05:01 PM
Has anyone ever used a inverter to power a powerhead, Air pump, heater in a cooler for transporting animals?
aquaticeco.com (http://www.aquaticeco.com/index.cfm/fuseaction/listings.categories/ssid/465) has a 300 watt inverter that has it's own built in battery. They also have a nice automatic system to protect your tank while your not there! A little on the expensive side but good insurance for a tank full of corals.

Ed Hahn
01-02-2005, 01:00 AM
I was considering a converter. I wanted to run a 200 watt heater and two small power heads inside a cooler for transporing corals. I am looking into possibly buying a plug in fridge or heat box for doing this if they are accurate. I am still up in the air. The box I looked at was about 70 dollars.

tamarindthai
01-02-2005, 03:15 AM
Ed
i had been used invertor .,got 2-750watts with 2-30A fuse protection for ea unit,,yes one of them for heater 250W max and one of them for 4 powerheads,wiil worked,,,
donot exceed more than 65% for long period of time,,battery wire will get hot quick if more than 45mins,
so be carefull do not OL the invertor.
for car used do not plug from cig lighter,,2-wire + and - directed from battery with 30A fuse protection it'll save.

Ed Hahn
01-03-2005, 02:44 PM
Ed
i had been used invertor .,got 2-750watts with 2-30A fuse protection for ea unit,,yes one of them for heater 250W max and one of them for 4 powerheads,wiil worked,,,
donot exceed more than 65% for long period of time,,battery wire will get hot quick if more than 45mins,
so be carefull do not OL the invertor.
for car used do not plug from cig lighter,,2-wire + and - directed from battery with 30A fuse protection it'll save.
Thank You Dang,
Is this what you use to transport your corals?
Ed

Ed Hahn
01-03-2005, 02:52 PM
Here is what I was looking at to transfer corals..http://www.compactappliance.com/xq/JSP.detailmain/Classic_Minicooler_Portable_Refrigerator_With_Warm ing_Option/itemID.7179/itemType.PRODUCT/iMainCat.548/iSubCat.567/iProductID.7179/qx/shopping/product/550XX.htm

Katchupoy
01-03-2005, 03:04 PM
very fancy Ed... very fancy... but that would be perfect... dual purpose... reef and family use... very nice....

and no.. thats not the one Dang is using...

similar to this one Ed...

http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.gsp?product_id=1818512

Ed Hahn
01-03-2005, 04:26 PM
thanks Cesar, You pointed me to a cheaper refridgerator/warmer...
http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.gsp?product_id=2041870&cat=92574&type=21&dept=4125&path=0%3A4125%3A4128%3A92574#long_descr

dwall174
01-03-2005, 04:50 PM
Here is what I was looking at to transfer corals..
I have a small regular style cooler like the first one you posted! I use it to keep pop & food cold when I’m on the road or camping! It’s powered by the same thermoelectric cooling unit as the one you first looked at! There’s no thermostat to it & it would get way too cold or hot if you left it plugged in all the time. Maybe you could wire in some type of thermostat to start & stop it, Or just set up an inside temp probe so that you can manually switch it on & off?

Ed Hahn
01-03-2005, 05:12 PM
Thanks Dwall, I have a battery powered digital thermometer. Is that what you are saying the combination of the two and adjust the temperature accordingly say 78 degrees?

dwall174
01-03-2005, 10:43 PM
Yea if your digital thermometer has a temperature probe, place that inside the cooler then all you would have to do is turn the cooler/warmer on & off to maintain a good temp. Depending on the temperature outside of the cooler/warmer you would probably only need to run the unit for several minutes at a time?
BTW all you do to switch the unit from cooling to heating is reverse the plugs direction that goes into the unit.

Ed Hahn
01-04-2005, 10:04 PM
Dwall, have you used this unit for heating anything?
Ed

dwall174
01-05-2005, 01:04 AM
Yea I have used it to keep foods warm also! It’s not really designed to make cold things hot, or hot things cold! More like it keeps warm things warm, & cold things cold. I used it once at a company barbecue to keep hotdogs & hamburgers warm all day! I wrapped them in foil after cooking, & I would guess it kept them at 125~140 degrees.