PDA

View Full Version : LED fixtures and PAR ratings

jx4hansen
07-31-2010, 03:26 AM
Hello everyone this is my first post. I have been researching reef tanks for over 3 years and now ready to buy lighting.

I recently got to see the PACIFIC SUN unit at Barrier Reef Aquariums in Renton, Wa. and was very impressed.

I would like to know not only everyone's opinions but would like to get some actual PAR reading for the recommended led lights.

I have a 75 gallon 48x18x20 so I do not have to go all that deep. I plan on having a little of everything in the tank and want a clam.

So far I have my list in this order--

1. Pacific Sun
http://pacificsunusa.com
2. Aqua Illumination
http://www.aquaillumination.com
3. MaxSpect
http://delightings.com/index.cfm?GPID=30
5. Ecoxotic - Panorama
http://www.ecoxotic.com
4. TMC Aqua Ray
http://americanaquariumproducts.com/LEDLights.html

I am for sure going to purchase LED, just not sure which....

Myteemouse
07-31-2010, 09:01 AM
My buddy has a pac sun deal and he's growing SPS if this helps at all.

thatguy559
07-31-2010, 10:46 AM
the ecoxotic was the brand i was looking for. The tech guy told me for a 48"x24"x24" i would need 2 of the 12k fixtures. so thats what im going to start out with then work my way up to maybe 4 eventually. but i would like to know if there are par meter readings on these as well.

edit: i thought it was the cannon led series. http://www.ecoxotic.com/products/modular-led-lighting/cannon-led-pendants.html

gothunder3022
07-31-2010, 11:10 AM
Do some searching on Dr. Sanjay Joshi and the fixture you're interested in, he may have done an evaluation of it. He's done several of the current LED fixtures.

NC2WA
07-31-2010, 11:22 AM
gothunder,

got a link ???

ntswift
07-31-2010, 12:07 PM
here's a link to one of them.
http://www.advancedaquarist.com/2010/5/aafeature2

jx4hansen
07-31-2010, 01:08 PM
Wow thanks for the link....Aqua Illumination blows all of those tested away with PAR values but is very focused light.