View Full Version : help! I can't see through the glass

05-13-2005, 07:45 PM
I filled the aquarium last weekend with tap water and Instant Ocean (125g) and let it circulate over the week. I came home today and found a thick white layer in the glass. I cant even see through it. Could it be that the tap water here has too many minerals? is it the salt solution? maybe I should get the RO/DI right?

05-13-2005, 08:10 PM
no idea what your water would be like in puerto rico. I would suggest the RO/DI. run carbon and filter floss.

05-13-2005, 08:16 PM
oh ok... how can I get that stuff out of the glass? I already tried with a scrub sponge I have for glass aquariums and almost nothing comes out. :?:

05-13-2005, 08:40 PM
Is it hard on the glass? You could try a razor blade if the tank is glass.

05-13-2005, 09:44 PM
and it won't scratch it? oh and won't it get back again in the glass? Should I get all the water out and start over again? :confused: I would lose about 150g already mixed water.

05-13-2005, 11:11 PM
Do you have a picture of what you are describing? Sounds like hard water deposits but that's too quick to get that much. Is there anything in the tank like sand or rock? I guess you could test the water and if it is bad dump and go RO/DI. I wouldn't go any other way with a tank the size of yours. Trust I too have a 150g. :)

05-13-2005, 11:35 PM
Is the only thing in the tank the saltwater? Did you add anything like calcium or alk additives. If you dont want to use a razor you can try a credit card. If you didnt add anything and the specific gravity it right. You probley have insanely hard water. If you have a test kit, post the specs on tap water, gh. If you have a CA and Alk kit post the specs on your freshly mixed saltwater. If your alk or ca is too high it will precipitate on to any available surface or just out into the water. That may be what you are seeing on the glass. Hope it helps. Steve

05-14-2005, 08:58 AM
im just curious of what the natural seawater parameters are in your area of the carribbean. anyone, is it possible to use the sea water if the parameters are correct?

05-14-2005, 10:34 AM
There's nothing else in the tank... just the mixed water. I'll try to get the picture if that helps. I moved here recently (already lived in PR though,just another town) I had a 30g at the other house and this never happened, but here the 30g has a red slime algae problem, must be the water top offs :doubt: About the sea water parameters... I don't know but I dont trust in the quality of the water.. at least at the seashore.

05-14-2005, 10:37 AM
You had a carbonate explosion, aka snow storm, which you may not have seen as they can be slow at times. The deposit is that of CaCO3 and MgCO3, basically hard water deposits. This can happen at times if for some reason the CO2 leaves the system quickly. Warm cool water mixing can also cause this. Or really, really hard water with a high Alk and pH. Some times these explosions can't be explained, especially when all water parameters test normal. 99 % of the them are from to high a pH, Ak and Ca due to adding additives to much at a time or wrong buffers.

I would dump the water and start over. It will be along tidiest task with a razor blade. I would suggest getting some Muriatic Acid from a chemical supply store and dilute it 10 parts water to 1 part Muriatic Acid by volume ( as in, 1 cup Muriatic Acid to 10 cups water). Put it in a spray bottle and spray the walls and let it sit for and 1/2hr, rinse and do it again if needed. Be careful with this stuff, it is HCl ( Hydrochloric Acid) where rubber gloves. For starts, try straight Vinegar in a spary bottle first, to see how it works, full strength.

05-14-2005, 10:42 AM
thanx I think I'll try that