PDA

View Full Version : Calcium reactor media, Which to use?



Kensn
06-28-2005, 11:44 PM
I would like everyones opion on which media is best to use in a calcium reactor. If you need to know any info from me please ask. I haven't too much of a clue on this one.

Ken

mattseattle
06-28-2005, 11:50 PM
depends on the reactor - which reactor are you planning to use? most reactors use ARM media but some reactors use the larger media.

Kensn
06-28-2005, 11:56 PM
I picked up a K2R. I was thinking ARM, but wanted some input from people who use reactors.

Ken

Illusion
06-28-2005, 11:59 PM
I run ARM.. Always have been happy so no reason to try anything else.. Been using ARM for about 2yrs now..

James

Kensn
06-29-2005, 12:02 AM
Thanks for the Input James.

mattseattle
06-29-2005, 01:33 AM
I used ARM when I ran my old reactor. I have a Sharaun Jetstream 1 now and use the large media.

The only issue I ran into with ARM was once the sponge in my reactor got a little plugged with media dust and it slowed down the flow. CO2 built up and turned the media into mush. Besides that it ran fine....

Kensn
06-29-2005, 01:39 AM
Thanks again Matt for all your input.

Ken

NaH2O
06-29-2005, 06:57 AM
Tagging along on this one....

matt - what kind of pH does the reactor run at with the larger media?

mattseattle
06-29-2005, 11:57 AM
i run mine about 6.8 or 6.9. i'm barely driving this reactor. i'm running a reactor that is rated for 400 gallon tank on a 55 gallon tank though! :) i bought it so it would work on my new tank which will be a 110 gallon.

Illusion
06-29-2005, 12:00 PM
With ARM I run my First chamber of the reactor at 6.5 and the second chamber at 6.7... SO far I have never had an issue with it melting down or anything...

James

MINIATUS
06-29-2005, 02:08 PM
I will be using arm also.

MINIATUS

mattseattle
06-29-2005, 02:23 PM
I always rinsed the ARM media before I placed it in the reactor. I found that it had a lot of dust that could clog your reactor. I'm not sure if others do this or not but I did and it saved me quite a few headaches.

Illusion
06-29-2005, 02:35 PM
Yeah I have Never rinsed mine yet... never had a need... I have been using it out of the 50lb bag that I dumped into a 5g bucket so maybe thats why...

James

Kensn
06-29-2005, 03:14 PM
Who sells ARM around here?

Blue Sierra?

Ken

mattseattle
06-29-2005, 03:30 PM
not sure who does....i always ordered mine online as i found it about a 1/3 of the cost of fish stores in the area. if you are in a hurry then you may call around otherwise i'd just order it online. custom aquatics offers 5% off to RF members and is on the W. Coast so you usually get your package in 2 or 3 days.

Kensn
06-29-2005, 06:11 PM
Fantastic Matt, sounds like a winner to me.

Ken

Kensn
06-29-2005, 10:47 PM
Matt thanks for the tip. I ordered ARM from CA today along with a couple of test kits I was getting low on.

Ken

mattseattle
06-30-2005, 12:13 AM
glad i could help you out....

mojoreef
06-30-2005, 10:17 AM
Matt are you using the media that sharuan has?? looks like filings?? if so can you discribe what it looks and feels like??


Mike

mattseattle
06-30-2005, 12:51 PM
Matt are you using the media that sharuan has?? looks like filings?? if so can you discribe what it looks and feels like??


Hey Mike,

The Sharuan media looks more like little fingers just like SPS growth. Here is a picture I took of the media before I placed it in the reactor. Each piece is from 1" to almost 2" long probably and feels just like a piece of dead coral.

Matt

MINIATUS
06-30-2005, 01:12 PM
Matt
Who makes it.

MINIATUS :?:

mattseattle
06-30-2005, 01:17 PM
good question - I'm not sure who makes it. I buy it from Premium Aquatics. They actually refer to it as Coral Sand and state it's made for the Schuran reactor.

mojoreef
06-30-2005, 01:43 PM
Yea shuran calls it coral sand to. It kinda look like filings taken out of a solid chunk of sand???

are they very light?
can you crush them with your fingers?
and when they dissolve do they just reduce in size or do they come apart first???


thanks for the help


Mike

mattseattle
06-30-2005, 02:04 PM
Actually for the size of the pieces they actually weight more than they look so yeah they are relatively heavy. Also, no way you could crush them with your fingers....well I'm sure some could but I can't easily. Each chuck is relatively dense. When the media dissolves it reduces and size and it's very clean. The inside of my reactor is still relatively clean and I've been running the media for 3 months now (I think). There is hardly any dust at the bottom of the reactor and the reactor does not have a sponge.

Matt

Yea shuran calls it coral sand to. It kinda look like filings taken out of a solid chunk of sand???

are they very light?
can you crush them with your fingers?
and when they dissolve do they just reduce in size or do they come apart first???

ROWAUSA
07-05-2005, 02:15 AM
I use ROWAlith C+. Sorry, had to jump in on this one too.

fishermann
07-05-2005, 10:13 AM
Matt I thought you had to run the reactor's ph around 6.3 to melt the media?