<---->

    1. More Items
      906EV400quarter_copy.jpg
      906EV240quarterview_copy.jpg
      906EV180a_copy.jpg
      782482_viaskimmer.jpg

      Previous Product    Next Product
      Aqua C EV-180 Skimmer
      Reviews Views
      4 2826
      spacer
      Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
      50% of reviewers $357.00 None indicated
      906EV180a_copy.jpg


      906EV180a_copy.jpg
      supersize









      Description: EV - 180

      Spray Injection Protein Skimmer

      The EV-180 replaces our best-selling sump skimmer, the EV-150. The new 180 is a true performer - due to the larger mixing box and baffling design we are able to generate far greater results from the same pump. We encourage the most demanding retail stores, livestock dealers, and advanced hobbyists to try our new EV skimmers, you will not be disappointed.

      New features for 2002

      • Designed to sit directly on sump bottom - up to 9" of sump depth
      • 3/8" precision ball valve for air flow control
      • Super silent - you won't hear it running
      • Virtually no bubble return to sump - we guarantee it
      • Twist-Lock flanges make for secure connection without screws
      • Mixing box has been increased by 40% = greater contact time
      • Larger collection cup drain
      • John Guest Speedfit fitting optional for calcium reactor hook-up
      • Larger, wider diameter foam tower

      Specifics

      • Height: 20"
      • Footprint: 9" x 5.75"
      • Input: 3/4" hose barb
      • Output: 1" gate valve
      • ¼" John Guest "Speedfit" fitting on ozone/calcium reactor models
      • 3/8" FTP air inlet with precision ball valve for foam tuning
      • 5/8" collection cup drain
      • 5" x 6" OD foam tower
      • Auto-waste container compatible - flanges feature EPDM gaskets
      • Patented Spray Injection System (U.S. Patent # 6,156,209)

      Installation

      • In-Sump
      • Stand-Beside
      • Inline with sump

      *Check out our User Manuals download pages for diagrams on sample sump set-ups

      Recommended Pump

      • Sen 700
      • Mag 700
      • Rio 3100
      • Dolphin DP-800 (valve recommended)
      • Iwaki 20 RLT
      • Little Giant 3 MDQ

      *All of the above pumps have been tested with this skimmer and meet our high standards for performance. If you have a question regarding pump choices please contact us!



      Find the lowest price for the :
      Hermit Crab
       
      Posts: 182
      Registered: May 2004
      Location: Troutdale, Oregon



  1. Author
    1. roverrange
      New Forum member!

      Registered: November 2005
      Location: New York
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Tue December 6, 2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $360.00 | Rating: 1 

       
      Pros: It's small
      Cons: It doesn't work.

      The EV-180 functions as a sculpture in my sump. Nice to look at but doesn't do anything. Every review I have read says they are finicky. Mine isn't finicky, it just doesn't work at all. Eventually I will use it as a reaction chamber for ozone. If I hadn't bought it from "no returns" Marine Depot, I would have sent it back long ago.
      This user is offline
      Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
      rudeanduncouth

      Ghetto Engineer

      Registered: December 2005
      Location: Moscow, ID
      Posts: 196
      Review Date: Mon March 20, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $366.00 | Rating: 8 

       
      Pros: Good skimmate
      Cons: A little finicky

      I have no problems with my EV-180. Works like a champ. I am running it with a mag 12 though.

      ------------------------------
      Daniel
      This user is offline
      Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit rudeanduncouth's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
      Murfman
      Copepod

      Registered: November 2006
      Location: Colorado Springs
      Posts: 52
      Review Date: Fri November 3, 2006 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

       
      Pros:
      Cons:

      Running a Mag 9 with a ball valve on it at about 7/8s flow. Skims great, as long as you keep your hands out of the tank. Keep the injector clean too!
      This user is offline
      Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Murfman's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
      davidabrown66

      Dolphin

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: Kent, WA
      Posts: 150
      Review Date: Sat November 11, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $345.00 | Rating: 7 

       
      Pros: Compact size and footprint & can be mounted inside or outside of sump
      Cons: Took me 4 months to get dialed in just right, and figure out all of it's qwirks. You also need a fair amount of waste before it kicks in. I won't perform very well with just live rock and one fish even if you have measurable nitrate and phosphate.

      Also I use a mag 9.5 and dial it back just slightly. I tried the Iwaki 30RLT suggested without success, and before that I tried the Rio 3100.

      I skim raw water which remains at a constant heighth. I broke the skimmer in while curing 170 LBs of live rock, but I still needed to opened up the air mixture valve all the way, open up the gate valve all the way, and dial back the magdrive 9.5 slightly so you don't overdrive the skimmer which kills performance. The Mag runs in the sump instead of outside the sump, because the magdrive does'nt perform as well outside the sump.

      I've had my EV180 now for 9 months, and I'm finally happy with it. Time will tell if It will keep up with a fully loaded 150 gal SPS tank. If I had more room under the cabinet, I probably would've gone for the Euroreef. I would also might have bought the EV240, but again only time will tell.

      ------------------------------
      150 Gal Tall Acrylic, 75 Gal sump/ref, 40 Gal Frag tank, (2) 250 Watt hqi 10K iwasaki, ice cap pendants, Ice cap VHO 660, Baracuda Closed Loop, Dolphin Ampmaster Closed Loop, Pac Coast CL650 chiller,Blueline HD70 return, Super Reef Octopus ext-5000 skimmer, Geo 618 Ca Reactor, PBTang, Foxface, Emperor Angel, SPS, LPS
      This user is offline
      Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  



Powered by: Reviewpost vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2010 All Enthusiast, Inc.