Sierra Fish & Pets <----> BarrierReef
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 46 to 56 of 56

Thread: Lets talk about calcium/Kalk reactors

  1. #46
    Hermit Crab

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    185
    Rep Power
    0
    Okay, my effluent pH is 6.2 and I am using ARM. When I turned the reactor on about 80% of the media rose to the top in a big chunk.

    So, I guess I'll start dripping the effluent slowly after I take calcium and alk readings from the tank. Should I open the reactor and try to break the media up or leave it alone? And do I need to adjust my bubble rate?
    Katrina
    INDMAS Treasurer

    Solana and Zero Edge -- both skimmerless

  2. #47
    Reef Keeper
    mojoreef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Sumner
    Posts
    7,855
    Rep Power
    0
    Ok katrina I would break up the media if you can, it will make it more efficient. I would like to see a PH of around 6.8 or so coming out of the unit. But measureing now wont help up. Leave the bubbles alone for now and start the unit off at a slow effluent drip. lets see if the ph will hover at the 6.8 mark while it is dripping. let me know

    MIke
    Mike O'Brien-Oceans by Design
    visit us in person:
    1055 Andover Park East
    Tukwila, WA 98188
    online:
    Hidden Content
    follow us:
    Hidden Content Hidden Content

  3. #48
    Hermit Crab

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    185
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks Mike. After I posted I started the effluent dripping, but it kept clogging. I could actually see the media dissolving and was afraid I would clog the whole thing up if I didn't get my pH up. There are still spaces between the grains of the media, but there is a fine silt on the top and the chamber at the bottom is about 1/4 to 1/3 full of media. Do I need to do anything with that?

    So I set my bubble rate at 30 and my drip rate at 2 oz per minute. The effluent pH is 6.89 this morning. I'll check my alk and calcium again tonight. Will that pH be okay or should I try to get it closer to 6.8 as you suggested in your last post. If I need to lower it, I'm thinking I should only adjust maybe 3 or 4 bpm? I suspect 10 bpm will be too much?

    FYI - My tank has about a dozen sps frags along with a couple of grapefruit size pieces, a Rose BTA and clone, numerous zoos and 2 clams. I've generally been keeping my SG at 1.025 with calcium at 425-475, alk 14 dkH, magnesium at 1400 to 1500. My alk has been as high as 16 dkH. I got to those higher levels in a battle with bryopsis. When I raised the alk and mag, the bryopsis went away, so I've been trying to maintain those higher levels for that reason. I've been happy with my sps growth, but this is my first sps tank, so I have nothing to compare to.

    Thanks very much.

    And Nikki thanks for the welcome
    Katrina
    INDMAS Treasurer

    Solana and Zero Edge -- both skimmerless

  4. #49
    Reef Keeper
    mojoreef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Sumner
    Posts
    7,855
    Rep Power
    0
    6,89 should be fine.

    Mike
    Mike O'Brien-Oceans by Design
    visit us in person:
    1055 Andover Park East
    Tukwila, WA 98188
    online:
    Hidden Content
    follow us:
    Hidden Content Hidden Content

  5. #50
    Hermit Crab

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    185
    Rep Power
    0
    Mike, thanks so much for your help. I think I'm beginning to understand how this think works, but I want to ask one question that goes back to your first post in this thread...how does this thing work? j/k

    Actually, I wondered why run it overnight with the effluent shut off? Is that the only way to get an accurate pH reading at a particular bubble rate?
    Katrina
    INDMAS Treasurer

    Solana and Zero Edge -- both skimmerless

  6. #51
    Reef Keeper
    mojoreef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Sumner
    Posts
    7,855
    Rep Power
    0
    Good question katrina. when the effluent is running you are pumping fresh SW at your tanks ph, say 8.3. doing this make the co2 work harder and makes you have to compensate with adding more. Shutting off the unit over night allows the co2 to get the water down to 6.whatever for sure. Once that is done your ready to go and your effluent is concentrated. now you begin to drip effluent, and yes the co2 will take a hit, but the adjustment from thier is alot easier.

    Make sence??


    Mike
    Mike O'Brien-Oceans by Design
    visit us in person:
    1055 Andover Park East
    Tukwila, WA 98188
    online:
    Hidden Content
    follow us:
    Hidden Content Hidden Content

  7. #52
    Hermit Crab

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    185
    Rep Power
    0
    That makes sense to me.

    Thanks again
    Katrina
    INDMAS Treasurer

    Solana and Zero Edge -- both skimmerless

  8. #53
    Amphipod

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    120
    Rep Power
    0
    Mike, do you think ARM media could be used in a fluidized reactor? (I have about 30 lbs of it left )

    Also why do you not run your kalk in the day? I ran my kalk reactor and my Ca reactor for 14 months with great results, or as far as I could tell anyways

    Steve

  9. #54
    Hermit Crab

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    ID
    Posts
    201
    Rep Power
    0
    Great thread. Would it be appropriate for everyone to throw out there favorite CR and why? I have not decided on one yet and any advice on what to look for in a CR would be helpful.
    The more I learn, the less I realize I know.

  10. #55
    Reef Keeper
    mojoreef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Sumner
    Posts
    7,855
    Rep Power
    0
    Steve I am not sure if the arm would fluidize in my reactor. I would say from just a look that it might but not as well as the rowalith.
    On the kalk/cal. I use them to offset the ph swing from photosynthesis. so at night I run the high ph kalk and during the day the low ph calcium reactor.

    Redeye I use a deltec calcium reactor out of germany. they are a little pricy and hard to find so not a very good example for ya.

    Mike
    Mike O'Brien-Oceans by Design
    visit us in person:
    1055 Andover Park East
    Tukwila, WA 98188
    online:
    Hidden Content
    follow us:
    Hidden Content Hidden Content

  11. #56
    Amphipod

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    120
    Rep Power
    0
    Originally posted by mojoreef
    Steve I am not sure if the arm would fluidize in my reactor. I would say from just a look that it might but not as well as the rowalith.

    Mike
    I'll have to try it and see, as long as it works as god as in a normal reactor it will be fine.. I just hate to throw out 30 lbs of media and wait a few months to get the proper stuff in

    Steve

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •