AirWaterIce <----> BarrierReef
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Skimming....can you do it to much?

  1. #1
    New Forum member!

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Oak Harbor, WA
    Age
    49
    Posts
    37
    Rep Power
    0

    Skimming....can you do it to much?

    I was wondering if you can "overskim" your tank. I have my skimmer running full speed and was curious if I can over do the skimming amount. How do you know if you are skimming the proper amount/level and what are signs that you are "over" skimming?

    Thanks!

    -Dave

  2. #2
    Reef Keeper
    mojoreef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Sumner
    Posts
    7,855
    Rep Power
    0
    David I dont think you can over skim. The skimmer removes particles that ride up the skimmer on bubbles. If thier is nothing to skim in the tank the bubbles will just not have anything on them.

    Mike

  3. #3
    The Lone Reefer

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Bellingham, Wa
    Age
    57
    Posts
    236
    Rep Power
    0
    It depends on who you ask. Many will say "Yes, you can remove important trace elements." Others like Mike don't think you can over skim - as in you reach a point where input and output are equalled out. I would suggest if you skim heavily do frequent (weekly) water changes. Also the term "over skim" has as many meanings as does too much light or water movement. It all depends on your bio load, feeding, reef type, ...

    Jon

  4. #4
    New Sheriff In Town
    Montanarocknreefer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Missoula, Montana
    Age
    70
    Posts
    469
    Rep Power
    0
    I run my skimmer 24/7 and every other day I am cleaning the holding cup of skimmate!
    JOHNNY
    Hidden Content "CAN YOU PUT A FLATWORM ON A ROUND HOOK?"
    Hidden Content

  5. #5
    Copepod

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    52
    Rep Power
    0
    Quick add on after water changes my skimmer removes lots of water. It always does was wondering if this is normal? I shut everything down when I do my changes and then it just takes maybe a gal. I do about 20 gals, weekly on my 90 and premix my instant ocean over night. After the initial take the skimmer goes back to normal, Its a urchin pro. I don't know I do stir the tank up when i do my change so is that the culprit? Should I be more careful when I do my water changes? Thanx everyone I'll try checkin back soon so be patient if it takes me awhile to get back.

  6. #6
    Sea Urchin
    NanaReefer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    U.P. of Michigan
    Age
    57
    Posts
    2,067
    Rep Power
    87
    Seems to be a popular topic as there are several related threads going on
    I run the RO BH-1000 on my lil 26. I've only 2 fish but lots of coral. So I guess you could say I have a low bio-load. But...I feed nothing but frozen foods 2x daily for the sole purpose of my Scooter Dragonet. I also feed several Reef Nutrition products 2-3x a week. Honestly I am so grateful for this skimmer! 4 out of 7 days its pulls major nasties that would otherwise cause me major algae issues. The other 4 days its pretty clean...just the way I like it. If anything this large skimmer allows me to feed my fish & corals the way they are meant to be fed, often!


    Sent from my iPhone 4s using Tapatalk
    Last edited by NanaReefer; 05-05-2013 at 08:01 PM.
    Hidden Content There is nothing like being a Reefer Hidden Content

  7. #7
    tat2z_21

    tat2z_21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Gilbert, AZ
    Posts
    1,993
    Rep Power
    66
    Quote Originally Posted by doug onion View Post
    Quick add on after water changes my skimmer removes lots of water. It always does was wondering if this is normal? I shut everything down when I do my changes and then it just takes maybe a gal. I do about 20 gals, weekly on my 90 and premix my instant ocean over night. After the initial take the skimmer goes back to normal, Its a urchin pro. I don't know I do stir the tank up when i do my change so is that the culprit? Should I be more careful when I do my water changes? Thanx everyone I'll try checkin back soon so be patient if it takes me awhile to get back.
    I would make sure that when you are changing the water, the water level where the skimmer is will adjust, changing the height of the water column inside the skimmer body as well. Even an inch can give you this result if you have your level of water too high or right on the verge.
    Olduvai Theory - This is a one-shot affair. If we fail, this planetary system fails so far as intelligence is concerned. The same will be true of other planetary systems. On each of them there will be one chance, and one chance only.

    Hidden Content

    Hidden Content

  8. #8
    Amphipod
    Terrance's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Renton, WA
    Posts
    106
    Rep Power
    0
    I think it would be hard to overskim a tank. Too much would be a skimmer rated for 400-600g skimmer on a tank with 15g of water.
    King Regards,
    Terrance

    20g Coral-only Tank

  9. #9
    Copepod

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    52
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks, I thought it was alright since I haven't had other issues other then annoying watching to make sure it does not fill my overflow. I will look to see if my skimmer level changes during the changes. I couldn't find a thread on it so i added it to this one. Thank you again!!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •