BarrierReef <----> Marine Depot
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: RODI and soft water

  1. #1
    Cleaner Shrimp
    myindoorocean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Spokane, WA
    Posts
    366
    Rep Power
    0

    RODI and soft water

    I'm setting up my RODI unit in my furnace room and I have the option of tapping into the water line before or after my water softener. Does anyone have any experience with this? I would assume I want to use soft water, but just thought I'd check.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

  2. #2
    copod
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Everett, WA
    Age
    56
    Posts
    2,557
    Rep Power
    0
    I think it would depend on what type of Softener is in use, I believe many add/use salts. Can you do some basic testing of TDS, PH, Cal and Alk before and after unit ???

    Cheers, Todd

  3. #3
    Cleaner Shrimp
    myindoorocean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Spokane, WA
    Posts
    366
    Rep Power
    0
    I could do that. It does use salt, I think they all do. It uses it in the regen process, it happens once a week or so. Cleans out the softener part somehow, not exactly sure how it works. The softener removes the "hardness", lime and so forth, which is something I would think I wouldn't want in my tank. It definitely doesn't leave the water tasting salty or anything like that.

  4. #4
    copod
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Everett, WA
    Age
    56
    Posts
    2,557
    Rep Power
    0
    Hard water is not always bad, depends on what all is in the makeup as sometimes can foul/plug up the micron filters quickly. Carbonate hardness could be beneficial and the ro/di unit should remove any metals. Another thing to think about here is, what is the water pressure like before and after ? I have my ro/di unit tapped in before house PRV to get 85-90 psi instead of 51 psi afterwards. Now getting about 1/1.25 ratio instead of 1/3.5 waste-water.

    Cheers, Todd

  5. #5
    Cleaner Shrimp
    myindoorocean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Spokane, WA
    Posts
    366
    Rep Power
    0
    Yes, that water pressure thought is something I should check. I probably should have checked that before I bought my RODI unit because I may need one with a booster pump. I think we have more than enough pressure here in Spokane, though.

    I have been googling a little, many people are saying tap in after the softener and my membrane will last much longer.

  6. #6
    Reef Keeper
    mojoreef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Sumner
    Posts
    7,855
    Rep Power
    0
    Yea after seems to be the way most folks do it to save on the membrane. Check the pressure before making a call on the booster pump and on a side note booster pumps are mostly designed as an after market thing, so easy to plug it in.

    Mojo
    Mike O'Brien-Oceans by Design
    visit us in person:
    1055 Andover Park East
    Tukwila, WA 98188
    online:
    Hidden Content
    follow us:
    Hidden Content Hidden Content

  7. #7
    Cleaner Shrimp
    myindoorocean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Spokane, WA
    Posts
    366
    Rep Power
    0
    One more thing to buy, a pressure gauge, right Mike?

  8. #8
    Cleaner Shrimp
    myindoorocean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Spokane, WA
    Posts
    366
    Rep Power
    0
    I think the only thing I've needed that I've had so far is teflon tape!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •