Marine Depot <----> BarrierReef
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: 140 gallon Zero Edge Aquarium

  1. #1
    Reef
    Spinner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    California
    Posts
    570
    Rep Power
    0

    140 gallon Zero Edge Aquarium

    Hey Gang i have a chance to pick up a 140 gallon mint condition Zero Edge with a high end custom built stand and canopy. This would be a trade out for painting the outside of their home with labor only.
    Could use some input good or bad regarding these set ups This would be soft coral/clam system i am thinking

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Cleaner Shrimp
    myindoorocean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Spokane, WA
    Posts
    366
    Rep Power
    0
    I don't know much about them but they sure are cool looking!

  3. #3
    Ixthus
    Chichas01's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    1,602
    Rep Power
    62
    hmm, I have a hard enough time staying on top of cleaning algae off the inside of the tank, seems like that would require double the maintenance. Interesting tanks but with water flowing over every part of the display, where would you put power heads? Vortechs would never work on that tank and seems like you would have water dripping off the magnets and not running freely down the side if you used Tunze or Koralia pumps. How are they getting flow in the tank now? Neat but not really functional for a reef tank.
    Last edited by Chichas01; 03-02-2013 at 09:48 AM.
    Darwinism is the deathblow to human dignity

  4. #4
    Copepod
    ReefCube's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    South Puget Sound
    Posts
    11
    Rep Power
    0
    Just make sure Bobby from Woodenville didn't build it. If he did, you have a very dangerous tank there.

    The only drawback I've heard is fish seem to go over the edge more frequently than even a rimless.

    Would be an awesome clam tank tho.

  5. #5
    copod
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Everett, WA
    Age
    56
    Posts
    2,557
    Rep Power
    0
    Is that a picture of actual tank or a media shot ??? Incredibly unique aquarium but have some of the same concerns as above maintenance wise. For flow, a closed loop setup as shown in pic would be perfect and the only feasible way to keep it high-tech clean. You would definitely want a very firm floor (slab) to have this on.

  6. #6
    Reef
    Spinner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    California
    Posts
    570
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ReefCube View Post
    Just make sure Bobby from Woodenville didn't build it. If he did, you have a very dangerous tank there.

    The only drawback I've heard is fish seem to go over the edge more frequently than even a rimless.

    Would be an awesome clam tank tho.
    It was built by Zero Edge for a MACNA display then sold after 3 years ago. Don't know who Woodenville is? I have noticed seems Zero Edge is no more?
    Thanks for the input everyone....FYI the returns come up from bottom middle of tank.

  7. #7
    Cleaner Shrimp
    myindoorocean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Spokane, WA
    Posts
    366
    Rep Power
    0
    That would be good for a closed loop system with the pipes hidden in the rocks.

  8. #8
    Copepod
    ReefCube's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    South Puget Sound
    Posts
    11
    Rep Power
    0
    Oh shoot. I thought you were local. Your ok. I don't think any Bobby tanks went that far out of state.

  9. #9
    Reef
    Spinner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    California
    Posts
    570
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by myindoorocean View Post
    That would be good for a closed loop system with the pipes hidden in the rocks.
    That is what i was thinking too with using a close loop for additional flow like a Waveline DC 5 or 10000 pump or Water Blaster

  10. #10
    Cleaner Shrimp
    myindoorocean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Spokane, WA
    Posts
    366
    Rep Power
    0
    I've got a dc10000 for my similar setup. I'm in the process of hooking it up but it's only set up to use flexible tubing. I want to use all PVC so I'm deciding what to do. Waveline has a new line of updated pumps that do have pipe threads. I'm interested in the dc12000. It's also apex controllable. Not out yet, though.

  11. #11
    Butterflyfish
    1guydude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    p-town, WA
    Posts
    3,149
    Rep Power
    90
    I was told to use a waveline for a return as well. They ramp up and down. Very kool pumps.

    Kool tank but am concerned about the livestock. Stars and snails would wonder out. Ur house would smell like an outside sushi bar in the summer. Im sure u could clean it. Hard or not.... let us know!
    D
    -299g display.

  12. #12
    Reef
    Spinner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    California
    Posts
    570
    Rep Power
    0
    All good points i have a week to say yes or no so time for meditation.....
    Found out it has a dry box built into the center of the tank to run MP's if wanted. Cool feature

  13. #13
    Wrasse
    Peppie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    bonney lake wa
    Posts
    3,472
    Rep Power
    99
    You are not the type to buy something without trying to figure out how to make it better or how to make it yours!! LOL

    No fish?? Corals only?

    Pay for maintenance?

    Nothing to paint?

    Charge more for the house painting? Instead of cost reduction for trade?

    Two tanks to run?
    You cant possibly know how you want to run your reef-system, until you have ran one.
    Current Tank
    Hidden Content

  14. #14
    Reef
    Spinner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    California
    Posts
    570
    Rep Power
    0
    I am a NERD what can i say? No way would i run both at the same time are you Krazy...lol
    This would be my down grade remember i am getting older

  15. #15
    Hawkfish
    senji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    puyallup
    Posts
    959
    Rep Power
    0
    the evaporation on that thing must be ridiculously high. but an easy fix.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •