Premium Aquatics <----> AirWaterIce
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Ecotech mounting

  1. #1
    Copepod

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Spanaway, WA
    Posts
    39
    Rep Power
    0

    Ecotech mounting

    Sorry in advance if I am posting this in the wrong section, still figuring things out. My first choice for a new lighting system I have been working on is the Ecotech Radions. The only problem I have is that I have a hood on the tank that I would like to keep using, and Ecotech recommends not installing in an enclosed hood.... So I took off the lids of my hood and am trying to figure out how to mount the light without hanging them from the ceiling. I do not want to hang them because where I chose to put the tank is under a vaulted ceiling and I don't want to deal with hanging my lights from a vaulted ceiling. I also thought about getting the mounting arms they have but because I want to leave my hood on there is no good place to clamp the arms onto. Tank is about 60" long and about 18" wide. I want to get two XR30w's. Let me know if I should give anymore info or pictures, any feedback would help!

  2. #2
    Surgeonfish
    mfinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Posts
    6,964
    Rep Power
    177
    I made a light rack for 3 Radions, out of a product called ez-tube.


    http://eztube.com/catalog


    It's aluminum square tubing and hard plastic connectors. Really easy to work with

  3. #3
    Copepod

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Spanaway, WA
    Posts
    39
    Rep Power
    0
    I will definitely look into trying this out, thank you!

  4. #4
    Surgeonfish
    mfinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Posts
    6,964
    Rep Power
    177
    I saw a picture of a tank where the guy didn't want to get rid of his hood also, so he cut holes in the top of his canopy and fit the fixture through the hole. He made little metal brackets that were screwed into the holes that are on top of the Radions, that prevented the fixture from falling through.
    Looked pretty slick.

  5. #5
    Butterflyfish
    1guydude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    p-town, WA
    Posts
    3,149
    Rep Power
    91
    They have 90deg angle metal at the hardware store.
    Or look in the lighting section. I just screwed mine into the top of my hood.
    Hths
    D
    -299g display.

  6. #6
    Surgeonfish
    mfinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Posts
    6,964
    Rep Power
    177
    Quote Originally Posted by michellechristine View Post
    My first choice for a new lighting system I have been working on is the Ecotech Radions. The only problem I have is that I have a hood on the tank that I would like to keep using, and Ecotech recommends not installing in an enclosed hood....

    This pretty much because a hood would have a tendency to trap moist air inside. If you can open it up some and maybe install a small fan or two like computer fans, you could get away with using them.

    If you do get Radions, once you figure out how to use the programs, you will love them. After having two tanks that are lite by Radions, I would never use another brand.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •