AirWaterIce <----> Marine Depot
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: New sump design

  1. #1
    Amphipod

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Renton, WA
    Posts
    144
    Rep Power
    0

    New sump design

    About 2 years ago I built a custom sump. From what I've learned since then, I've come up with a new one.

    My main reasons for changing are:
    1. The ASM skimmer doesn't fit well.
    2. Plus there ins't much room for a refugium.
    3. The flow path is not very good.

    This is a rough design that is long and narrow rather than short and wide. This design gives me about 2 more gallons of water, but more importantly the space in the sump is better utilized. I still need to put the chiller return and some lids one it, but this captures the intent. The stand is made by Oceanic for the Oceanic 57 rimless.

    Let me know what you think. The input I got on the last one was invaluable!





    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Surgeonfish
    mfinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Posts
    6,960
    Rep Power
    177
    Nice design, but way more detailed than I usually do.
    I am also making a new sump for a tank I'm setting up for a friend ( actually a temp tank)
    With mine I plan on using 3 chambers like yours.
    First chamber is my incoming water and skimmer area.
    The second is for the refugium, which I don't use sand or rock. Just macro algae ( cheato is my first choice).
    My thought there is the rock and sand have a tendency to trap detritus. They macro does too, so anything I can do to eliminate some of it helps.
    I also put a prop powerhead in the refugium to get max flow around the chaeto. Seems to really help it grow. And the prop ones don't seem to clog as fast.
    Then the third chamber is the return area. I also use this area for float switches, heaters and any other equipment.

  3. #3
    Surgeonfish
    mfinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Posts
    6,960
    Rep Power
    177
    Are you building the container too or using a premade one?

    I picked up a 40 breeder from petco for mine. It was the exact size I was looking for and they are currently having their $1 per gallon sale.

  4. #4
    Copepod

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Spanaway, WA
    Posts
    39
    Rep Power
    0
    How do you section off the chambers after you get the 40 breeder?

  5. #5
    Surgeonfish
    mfinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Posts
    6,960
    Rep Power
    177
    Quote Originally Posted by michellechristine View Post
    How do you section off the chambers after you get the 40 breeder?
    I am going to call around to the different glass companies in the Lacey area and get quotes for pieces of glass to use as baffles.
    I'll use a aquarium safe silicone to hold them in.
    I will ask each place I call for quotes using 1/4" salvage glass. It's usually cheaper than new.
    I always ask for pieces to be untreated ( not sanded) and do it myself to save $.

  6. #6
    Amphipod

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Renton, WA
    Posts
    144
    Rep Power
    0
    mfinn, Yes, I am building the container too. The last one I made using a CNC, but this time I will see if I can get the non-rectangular pieces waterjet cut.

  7. #7
    Surgeonfish
    mfinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Posts
    6,960
    Rep Power
    177
    Quote Originally Posted by Gary View Post
    mfinn, Yes, I am building the container too. The last one I made using a CNC, but this time I will see if I can get the non-rectangular pieces waterjet cut.

    It must be nice having access to precession machinery.

  8. #8
    Amphipod

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Renton, WA
    Posts
    144
    Rep Power
    0
    Yep! It's helpful from time to time!

  9. #9
    Hermit Crab

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Over There
    Posts
    199
    Rep Power
    59
    design looks solid. Do you need to be 18'' tall? Is it for extra room for back flush in case of power outage? Make sure you can get your skimmer in and out with that height.
    I am with mfinn on the rock or sand in the refg. cleaning that chamber is much easier without the sand and rock

    I would also place the heater where there is more flow

  10. #10
    Amphipod

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Renton, WA
    Posts
    144
    Rep Power
    0
    I was thinking 18" to keep the splashing contained. It seems that there's always something making a mess... Functionally, it could be about 16" tall. At 18" I can still get the skimmer out. My current sump is 21" tall and I can get it out.

    I'm with you both on not having sand in the refugium. I have some live rock in my sump now. I guess I could get rid of it. You are both right though, it is difficult to clean.

    Good call on the heater. I will put it somewhere else.

  11. #11
    Hermit Crab

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Over There
    Posts
    199
    Rep Power
    59
    If you need to run rock in the fuge use rubble and place it in a plastic mesh bag so you can easily remove it to rinse it.

  12. #12
    Amphipod

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Renton, WA
    Posts
    144
    Rep Power
    0
    That's a good idea! I have found that quite a bit of sediment collects in places. And the sump I have now is next to impossible to clean in some areas.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •