Clear Fabrications <----> Marine Depot
Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Hello From WA state!

New Forum member!

Hello From WA state!

Hi All!

My name is Nicole and I'm starting out with my first saltwater tank. My dad has had reef tanks set up for the last 8 years and I have been an active participant in the hobby with him however never on my own. Ive been working on getting my tank set up and ready for sand and live rock this weekend. Very soon I will be totally on my own and won't have my dad to give me instruction and help me out so as a newbie I may ask some really dumb questions, I apologize in advance. I have a 36 gallon tank, fluval 205 and an octopus skimmer. I'm hoping to bring my dads 2 clown fish (8 yrs old) and 6 yr old Anthias up to my tank in the next month. I'm totally open to advice from more experience people, my dad is super old school so I'm hoping to learn the newer best ways to do things!

Thanks,
    Nicole

Chimp in Space......
    Welcome!

Looking forward to watching your progress.
    david

Current tank(s): Oceanic 58 with a 29g sump, Eheim 9g nano

Owner / Administrator
    Welcome Nicole,

I would use the fluval 205 only to polish off the tank but not run it full time, also I'd keep it cleaned very often when using it. I guess it all depends on what you have to work with that would determine how much I'd use that. Tell us about what you have, rocks, etc, sump & what your doing right now to get it going. No dumb questions here, this is what we do, help others get things started, figure out problems etc, so please post away, ask questions don't be shy we'll help!!

Copepod
    Welcome to Reef Frontiers!

Are you going FOWLR (fish only with live rock) or are you thinking about adding corals?

~V

New Forum member!