Sierra Fish & Pets <----> Premium Aquatics
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: having a problem using the pm feature

  1. #1
    Surgeonfish
    mfinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Posts
    6,964
    Rep Power
    177

    having a problem using the pm feature

    Today was the second time I went to open a pm and got a big all red webpage that said something a security warning and that there was a virus here.
    Also said something about Chrome. I tried to copy and paste the text, but it wouldn't let me.
    It happened last time I went to open a pm.

  2. #2
    Owner / Administrator
    Scooterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    12,305
    Rep Power
    10
    Google has changed their requirements to be considered safe, Our site is clean but I'm working to meet Googles requirements so people don't get this warning. I'll update as I make progress on this issue.

  3. #3
    Owner / Administrator
    Scooterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    12,305
    Rep Power
    10
    Ok I submitted a ticket to get this fixed, I moved it up to high lever so we can get it fixed asap, I'll update as I find out more.

  4. #4
    Owner / Administrator
    Scooterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    12,305
    Rep Power
    10
    It isn't a virus, it is google new standards for security for sites that don't use ssl certificates, I'm getting this resolved so it will actually benefit the site in several ways regarding the forum email accounts that always gave you the warning.

    I'll update progress as it happens

  5. #5
    Owner / Administrator
    Scooterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    12,305
    Rep Power
    10
    Martin give it a try again and see if it is fixed, let me know.

    FYI we're scanning the server also just to make sure we're safe.

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Surgeonfish
    mfinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Posts
    6,964
    Rep Power
    177
    Something else has been happening.
    When I checkout RF in the mornings, I go the main page and then click on the "What's New" tab and something weird happens.
    It's like the page blinks. And that's when I notice another pop under page has loaded.
    It's alway the same website. It's title is "International Business News"
    It doesn't always happen, but just usually first thing in the morning, and it only happens here.
    This morning it was this,



  7. #7
    Owner / Administrator
    Scooterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    12,305
    Rep Power
    10
    Do you run any software to keep your browser running smooth, like a spyware remover? These programs attach cookies and track your movement from website to site and try to use that to pop up things like this. I use a couple and every week or so run them to clean up, it helps keep things running sooth. If you ever question what to use go to https://www.komando.com/ usually you can find good free ones to use.

  8. #8
    Surgeonfish
    mfinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Posts
    6,964
    Rep Power
    177
    Quote Originally Posted by Scooterman View Post
    Do you run any software to keep your browser running smooth, like a spyware remover? These programs attach cookies and track your movement from website to site and try to use that to pop up things like this. I use a couple and every week or so run them to clean up, it helps keep things running sooth. If you ever question what to use go to https://www.komando.com/ usually you can find good free ones to use.

    I do run a spyware program every few months.
    I use to run one continuously, but it presented an occasional problem.

  9. #9
    Owner / Administrator
    Scooterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    12,305
    Rep Power
    10
    I'm going to add another scan to the site and see if maybe we can get an ad program remover installed here also, just in case.

  10. #10
    Surgeonfish
    mfinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Posts
    6,964
    Rep Power
    177
    It's not really that big of a thing. It's just weird.
    AND it only happens in the morning when I get up and check out the internet. See if it needed me overnight.
    I always go to King5 checkout local news, then check email, then come here and click on the "What's new" tab.
    I see the RF webpage blick for a half a second, then go to the list of new posts.
    But when I close my browser ( Chrome ), there is always the same pop under web page.
    It does close normal. I have seen some that really resist being closed.

  11. #11
    Owner / Administrator
    Scooterman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    12,305
    Rep Power
    10
    I did run a clean up and it caught a few things, might help out.

  12. #12
    RF Staff
    spieszak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    1,725
    Rep Power
    108
    any chance you might be clicking on a image stored at photobucket by mistake? They are doing that popup crap all the time now. I won't go there unless absolutely necessary any more.
    -Stacey
    30 gallon nem tank /60 gallon softie tank/75 mixed reef /5 gallon pico (work tank)
    Hidden Content

  13. #13
    Surgeonfish
    mfinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Posts
    6,964
    Rep Power
    177
    Quote Originally Posted by spieszak View Post
    any chance you might be clicking on a image stored at photobucket by mistake? They are doing that popup crap all the time now. I won't go there unless absolutely necessary any more.
    No, unless it is concealed under the " What's New" tab.

  14. #14
    RF Staff
    spieszak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    1,725
    Rep Power
    108
    Figured as much, sometimes asking a specific question helps folks remember something, like the page not looking right, or things moving when they mouse over... *shrug*
    -Stacey
    30 gallon nem tank /60 gallon softie tank/75 mixed reef /5 gallon pico (work tank)
    Hidden Content

  15. #15
    Surgeonfish
    mfinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Posts
    6,964
    Rep Power
    177
    Quote Originally Posted by spieszak View Post
    Figured as much, sometimes asking a specific question helps folks remember something, like the page not looking right, or things moving when they mouse over... *shrug*
    I kind of do the same thing in a certain order first thing in the morning. Check news on King5, email, RF. Once at RF click the new posts tab. It was at that exact moment, it's like the page refreshes itself, but what happens is a pop under page appears.
    I have wondered where it came from so after every click of my mouse I would close everything to see if the page had appeared.
    It was easy to narrow down since it was early in the morning.


    But this morning it did not happen so maybe Scooterman fixed it.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •