Acro flaking why?

Help Support Reef Frontiers:

Gazbo

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 16, 2012
Messages
223
Location
Wenatchee Wa
One of my tabling acro's I picked up at the frag swap is starting to flake off the skeleton . I am just wondering what might cause this all other sps and lps corals are doing fine. I dipped it with RPS before putting it in the tank could damage in transport cause this? It looked healthy yesterday. I will remove it and dip it again and remove the the damage section hopefully that will stop it from spreading further.
 

Attachments

DTECH07

M.I.A
Joined
Dec 24, 2010
Messages
1,068
Location
Lakewood, WA
Everything looks good.
Have you had a major swing or drop of any of them? How long has it been like this? Your last water change? Anything new or old added?
 

Gazbo

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 16, 2012
Messages
223
Location
Wenatchee Wa
It was added Saturday got it at the frag swap did a 3 hr acclamation dipped the coral and thats it. It looked good Sunday and Monday. The only thing is it was in a small container for it size and the tips may have been damage. I was just checking if anything specific can cause this to happen.
 

Gazbo

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 16, 2012
Messages
223
Location
Wenatchee Wa
Is it real close or touching the mushrooms next to it?
Nope its by itself nothing close I took extra care since I have been wanting a tabling acro for some time now. Made sure I gave it plenty of room around to grow. The other new additions are doing great my strawberry shortcake, Seattle Stardust, strawberry monti etc...
I would think if it was a light issue not just one end would be affected.
Just wondering if anyone else has had this happened to and what they found caused it or what to look for.
 

DTECH07

M.I.A
Joined
Dec 24, 2010
Messages
1,068
Location
Lakewood, WA
Some times for SPS when transferred from one tank environment to another will suffer as you know stress, i've found at times when i purchase SPS they'll be some die off like you have. I simple cut the the area of die off to ensure the stop the spreading. i just purchased a Acropora carduus and it began doing as yours is, i didn't remove it from the tank but trimmed (a little into the good flesh) with bone or frag cutters while keeping under water then re-glued. This prevent parasites from eating the good flesh thus spreading the decay and will allow the coral to do what it does naturally once hurt that is is to regenerate over the damaged or freshly cut area. The corals I have colored up nicely and i now have three good size frags and not one. That would be my suggestion to do, let me know the outcome.
 

SeaLion

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 7, 2013
Messages
54
Location
Arizona
Out of curiosity you posted an ammonia level of .5, what test kit are you using?

Over the years I have had this occur numerous times, finding the rhyme or reason behind it is difficult. As already posted swings in parameters or off baseline numbers is always the usual suspect.

Good luck with the piece, please post results of any intervention.
 

Gazbo

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 16, 2012
Messages
223
Location
Wenatchee Wa
Out of curiosity you posted an ammonia level of .5, what test kit are you using?

Over the years I have had this occur numerous times, finding the rhyme or reason behind it is difficult. As already posted swings in parameters or off baseline numbers is always the usual suspect.

Good luck with the piece, please post results of any intervention.
A cheap API think its a bad test kit since didn't get any other readings as far as nitrates or nitrites and 0 phosphates. My phosphate tester is a henna.

As for the acro its a loss:( I fragged into 2 pieces with no signs of damage or tissue loss on the either piece and just got home and its tissue is almost all gone on both. Really sucks been wanting a good tabling acro for the top of my rock area but at least the 20+ frags I got are doing great.
 

DTECH07

M.I.A
Joined
Dec 24, 2010
Messages
1,068
Location
Lakewood, WA
You figure the coral is a tank at a home or business, then transported to the swap, then bagged and the acclimated to your tank. Corals are very hardy depending on the species but stress is still present IMHO your issue. I would suggest you get a better test kit is you love your corals.
 

Gazbo

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 16, 2012
Messages
223
Location
Wenatchee Wa
You figure the coral is a tank at a home or business, then transported to the swap, then bagged and the acclimated to your tank. Corals are very hardy depending on the species but stress is still present IMHO your issue. I would suggest you get a better test kit is you love your corals.
I figured it was stress was just making sure there wasn't something I should do or look for. As for as the test kits I do agree that you need a good dependable test kit I am just using up the API test kit that came with a tank setup I bought but use different test kits depending on what I am testing for like KH and Calcium I use Saliferts, Mg and iodine I use Red Sea, Stron. Sea Chem, Phosphates hanna digital (and calcium but can't seem to get it working correctly) The only API tests I use is Ph,ammonia, nitrate, and nitrite until its gone. I will be getting a digital PH but trying to decide to invest in just a PH monintor or an better system from digital aquatics or neptune that would work for hopefully LED upgrade in the future also. I am a also a member on 3reef before I found this forum and they had a awesome chart that rated each test kit. here is a link Hope I don't get in trouble posting about another forum site but I thought it was helpfull in choosing a test kit Test Kit Comparison - 3reef Reef Aquarium Forum I know I got a little side tracked on this thread but this is what I used to choose my kits
 

Gazbo

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 16, 2012
Messages
223
Location
Wenatchee Wa
I want to get back to the ammonia. You should'nt have ANY detectable.
Yes I know I may have a little spike do to extra feedings for my sailfin tang that was getting really skinny but he either died or was eaten by something since he is gone now. I am back to my regular feedings and run a mixture of carbon and Zeolite crystals to help eliminate any ammonia. Well I did but not right now since I am in the middle of taking my sump completely apart to add baffles to help eliminate micro bubbles and try to get my skimmer working again.
 
2
Your email address will not be publicly visible. We will only use it to contact you to confirm your post.


Top