Quantcast

Another 55gal Oak Lighting Hood

Help Support Reef Frontiers:

D

Deepsixer

I spent a couple hours drawing up plans for my hood. I couldn't find much by way of the internet even in the woodworking circles. A few pictures here an there but nothing drawn up with materials. I'm no designer but I came up with something that should work for me and perhaps others. I will post pics when finished. I purchased all the oak yesterday and will start butchering the wood tomorrow. Pretty cool, haven't done much WW in awhile.

I was really disappointed in the quality of the stand/hoods in the stores. Most I looked at had warped tops and new even! The planning part was fun and am looking forward to making some sawdust. :)

DonW

R.I.P.
Wood

I dont know how much wood working you do and dont want to insult your skills. I thought I would throw out some advice for anyone building their own cabinets.

I build high end furniture and have seen lots of junk. Aquarium hoods are especially difficult to build without warping. Home Depot quality oak will warp just like in the stores. Your wood needs to be very dry less than 4%a few days in an unheated garage is to wet. The trick is to build and get it finished quickly. The finish is the most important. You have to finish it inside and out, if not it will warp. For saltwater Spar varnish is best and dont skimp on the interior. Poly both oil and water based get eaten by salt very fast. Spar usually does not have as high of gloss as poly though but will last a lifetime. If you want high gloss use Deft brushing laquer on the outside and spar on the inside.
For the top/lid if you need 18" wide dont use two 9" boards use four 4 1/2" boards with the grain running oposite. Solid wood is difficult to keep flat otherwise.
This table was finished with Deft years ago and still looks like the day it was finished.
Hope this helps
Don

big t

tankless
Wow Don