Quantcast

Aqua UV Set up

Help Support Reef Frontiers:

Weiser

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
45
I am planning on getting a Aqua UV Filter where would you recomend setting it up I Have a Refugium so I was thinking of Breaking the feed line from the Pump to the Aquarium.But I also am going to instal a Chiller so I gUess I would break this line also. Please give me your opinion. Thanks :)
 

gehidore

wik, pioneerwest madman
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
120
Location
near the pine trees (chehalis WA)
Weiser said:
I am planning on getting a Aqua UV Filter where would you recomend setting it up I Have a Refugium so I was thinking of Breaking the feed line from the Pump to the Aquarium.But I also am going to instal a Chiller so I gUess I would break this line also. Please give me your opinion. Thanks :)
You don't want the line to or from a refugium to be filtered in any way. Critters pass between the tank and refugium and this would prevent them and partialy ruin the purpose of the refugium.

I would cycle it off of a sump or canister filter.
 

NaH2O

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 25, 2004
Messages
8,568
Weiser - I recently added an AquaUV to my tank. I thought about having a dedicated pump for it, but I was limited to what I could add to the sump, so it is plumbed on my return line. I agree with gehidore, it would probably do better plumbed off of the sump or tank.

Here is a pic of mine.

 

ROWAUSA

Sales Guy
Joined
Nov 10, 2004
Messages
103
Location
CA
one thing to remember about these sterilizers, if for some reason the water flow stops flowing through the unit and the light does not go off, the unit needs to stay filled with water. The water acts as a coolant for the lamp. If the unit drains and the lamp stays on, it could possibly damage the unit.
 

NaH2O

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 25, 2004
Messages
8,568
ROWAUSA - Thanks for bringing that up - a very good point. These things aren't cheap, so taking care of them is important. I turn my unit off any time I have the pump turned off.
 

Weiser

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
45
So should I break The feed line to my skimmer and put the UV filter between it. Cane I place my chiller between the feed from the main pump to the tank?
 

NaH2O

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 25, 2004
Messages
8,568
IMO, the UV unit should be after the skimmer, and not on the drain line from the tank. Here is a quote from AquaUV's website:

Where do I install my UV?
The best place to install your Aqua Ultraviolet Sterilizer is after the filter. If an after the filter installation is not feasible, your sterilizer can be installed before the filter, but it will take a little longer to work. If installed before the filter, be aware that a small rock passing from the pump can break the quartz sleeve. It is recommended that if you install your unit before your filter, you check the UV periodically for any water leakage due to a broken quartz sleeve. Be sure to have adequate pre-filtration to prevent breakage. (Broken quartz sleeves and sub- sequential damage caused is not covered under warranty.)
I understand how tough it is when you are limited to room in the sump. I kind of had that problem, so I decided the best place to plumb my UV was on the return pump. When I said off of the tank - I meant run straight from the tank and looped back into the tank. Not sure how well it would work with a good powerhead running it, but in tight situations, or with tanks that don't have sumps, it may work (the powerhead is in the tank and pumps water into the uv then back into the tank).

I'm not experienced with chillers, but I don't see why you can't have the chiller set-up that way. However, I really don't know where the most efficient placement is.

What size is your sump, and what do you have in there already?

Hopefully we'll get you set-up well with both these pieces of equipment!
 

Weiser

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
45
I have an ecco system 24 " model I have a powerhead in the sump feeding the external skimmer and a bag of chemi-pure attached to the side. I will place some photos in my gallery the tank has only been running for about a week and a half.
 

NaH2O

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 25, 2004
Messages
8,568
Let me first say - great looking aquascaping!

I'm going to post the pics here:







Hmmm....I'm thinking the UV can be plumbed on the way back to the tank, but not sure about where the chiller should be placed. Your idea may be the way to go, but I'm going to see if a couple of the big guns can have a peek at the thread for their thoughts.

Oh, what size UV unit did you get?
 

fishermann

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 13, 2003
Messages
670
Location
Searcy, Arkansas
If you are going to run your refugium as a source for bugs you don't want to run them through you UV on the way back to the tank if you want them to arrive alive. If you are going to run it just as a sump then Nikki's suggestion is good since it is better to run filtered water through the UV, it helps keep the quartz sleeve cleaner. If you do want it for a food source in the future I would run the return pump for the UV out of your tank and back in since from the pics it doesn't look like you have a big enough in coming chamber in your refugium for a pump.
 

DonW

R.I.P.
Joined
Dec 15, 2003
Messages
8,753
Location
Tacoma, WA
We probably should know a little more about your flow speed and path.
Where is your return pump retuning from (refugium, return area)??
How many GPH are you returning? How is splitting the line going to affect your display flow?? Can you spare the loss of flow?
What is the rating on the sterilizer (gph)?
Since your planning on a chiller what is its rating (gph)?

IMO you should be able to shut down any external device and have no effect on the rest of the system. This way everything stays stable and you can take it apart without a mess.
I would run a chiller and a sterilizer in its own loop. Matching the sterilizer to the chiller. Example a chiller rated at 500gph then a sterilizer rated at 500++++. Chiller companies do a good job of rating. Filtration companies usually way over rate their devices.

Don
 

Weiser

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
45
My return pump is rated up to 700 GPH and it is plumbed out of the refugiums return area. The UV filter is rated for maximum flow of 2000 GPH, and the chiller is rated for minimum 500 GPH to Maximum 800 GPH
I dont have the return flow to the tank set maximum . Its a little to strong.
How would I Split the line?
 
Your email address will not be publicly visible. We will only use it to contact you to confirm your post.

Latest posts

Top