Quantcast

AquaDyne’s Octopus or Neptune Systems AquaController 2?

Help Support Reef Frontiers:

The R/C Man

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 20, 2004
Messages
423
Location
Spokane WA
Hi everyone!

I have been contemplating the purchase of a controller that will do everything but the dishes. I am looking for some feedback on the two models listed above.
Here are a few questions I am interested in.

Do you like the controller you have?
Do you wish you would have purchased the other based on your current features?
How is the reliability of the unit?
Was it worth the cash?

Thanks in advance…..
 

NaH2O

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 25, 2004
Messages
8,568
Awesome question Greg. I've often wondered this myself.

Also, for those replying to this thread: if you could explain the features of your controller for those that aren't sure what they do.
 

mojoreef

Reef Keeper
Joined
Jul 5, 2003
Messages
7,530
Location
Sumner
Greg I have had both systems, the aquacontroller pro and the octopus. I ran the aquacontroller for about 5 years and the octopus now for a year. I would say with out any hasitation that the aquacontroller pro is far superior. The main difference is in the control functions you can set, on the ACP you can really dial it in, where on the other you can only set ranges. I switched to the octopus and have been kicking myself ever since.


Mike
 

mojoreef

Reef Keeper
Joined
Jul 5, 2003
Messages
7,530
Location
Sumner
Sorry Nikki I missed your question. With the AC unit you can get all the standard timer controls for your lights and so on, pumps and what ever to. you can set up a moon light feature that changes with increase and decrease as the days of the month go by. the biggest feature is the controling of equipment. here are a couple of examples.
Say you have a calcium reactor. you can set a command in the unit that says. if ph goes down to 7.9 turn of the reactor and start your kalk system. Or if you temp hits 81 turn off the lights. or you can get deaper with something like At 9:00 pm turn off MH lights, turn on moon light, turn off pumps on and 3, dose rotifers for 2 hours, bla bla bla. pretty much what ever you want. It also has feed features which with the press of a button will turn off all your pumps, or a built in wave makers and so on, neat.

On the octopus you get all the timer controls the same. no moon light. thier control feature is setup a little different. it works in ranges. so say for PH you would have the following. Normal range is a PH between 8.2 and 8.35, if the ph goes above 8.35 you enter the control range, where it will start a device to lower the ph (say turn off the co2 or reactor) same would apply to the lower then 8.2 it could turn on the kalk reactor or a doser. couple points higher or lower would through it into alarm mode. Thier pretty close but that little bit of extra control and being able to dial it in, makes a big difference.


Mike
 

goby2004

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 10, 2004
Messages
137
Location
WOODINVILLE
I run the aquacontroller pro and love it, 5 years now without a glitch, even run my christmas lights with it! plenty of room to add devices and controls, used the computer interface to track changes with graphs and control inputs. ie yu can see how often your heater turns on for what duration to maintain temperature. Unlike most x-10 module controllers the AC transmits a signal every 30 seconds to all control modules so if it misses a signal it catches next time.

good luck....it's only money...
 

The R/C Man

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 20, 2004
Messages
423
Location
Spokane WA
Thanks guys!

That was some excellent info. I am taking my time setting up this tank so it will be self sufficient and have top of the line equipment. I hate having to buy things twice because I bought the less exspensive first and it failed (ie. a pump). Also being in the military I leave for months at a time and the wife doesn't want to have anything to do with the tank.... With the exception of feeding...... Thanks again!
 

MarineDreamer

Est. April 2nd, 2005
Joined
Mar 2, 2004
Messages
492
Location
Granite Falls, Wa
Wanareef,

Good lookin' out!

I'm most interested in this thread as I am looking into a controller too; and like you, I was choking on the prices on these things.

Since I’ve got time, I’ll be following SWN’s progress to see what the future holds!

Trevor
 

G~

Super Gobie
Joined
Jul 25, 2003
Messages
133
i have an ACII and love it. i did not see any reason for me to get the pro. i use if for both mine and my wife's tank, along with the christmas lights.:D

i use most of the functions of it. the seasonal temp, season lighting, and lunar cycles. i do not use the ORP, i wish they would put something else there now.

G~
 

DonW

R.I.P.
Joined
Dec 15, 2003
Messages
8,753
Location
Tacoma, WA
For the people that cant spend the big bucks this is a great option.
http://www.appdig.com/adicon_new/index.htm

I'v used one for a few years to control almost every aspect of my home and aquarium.

Lights, occupancy, aquarium, sprinklers, heater, home theatre, security and of couse christmas lights. Limited only by your imagination or lack of. Programming is easy and with a little creativity will do much more than a aquarium controller.

Don
 

tamarindthai

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Messages
3,354
Location
Sammamish, wa USA
i got the full completed feature of the octopus 3000,,i love it,,do what i want it to do ,,for me i am 30mins away from home ,,this controller send me message what ever or when ever,,power failure ph to low or to high bla bla bla ,,happening in the tank,data log on line history,etc from home from work,a lot more peace of mine after i got octopus 3000..
 
Last edited:
Your email address will not be publicly visible. We will only use it to contact you to confirm your post.
Top