Quantcast

Drilling overflow. Sizes needed

Help Support Reef Frontiers:

MINIATUS

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 21, 2003
Messages
337
I need to figure out what size hole and bulk head I would need to handle 2300gph. I need to figure this out ,so I can order my new tank. Any pros on this subject, and your help,would be greatly appreciated.

MINIATUS :confused:
 

esmith

AQUAMANIAC
Joined
Oct 9, 2003
Messages
451
Location
Shoreline, WA
I believe they are talking about the length (either vertical or horizontal (if you're going coast to coast)) of the overflow. You'll need to have that many inches of water inside of overflows to be able to supply water for the pump, otherwise the pump will out-compete the drains.

Does that make sense? I'm pretty sure this is what they're reffering to.

Eliyah
 

MINIATUS

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 21, 2003
Messages
337
I think I understand that , so it would be imposible to do on a 75 gal tank, if Im reading it right. other words 1 drain is out of the question. Back to the drawing board.

Maybe I should explain what Im doing. I am working on a 75 gal tank which will be fed by a Mag24. So what im trying to do is figure out what size overflow or overflows I would need. If what it states is true I will neeed at least 2 overflows to keep up with the Mag return. What do you think.

MINIATUS:confused:
 

esmith

AQUAMANIAC
Joined
Oct 9, 2003
Messages
451
Location
Shoreline, WA
Sounds about right for that size of a pump. You could do 2 1.5" drains in corner overflows, and that would suffice for your application.

Before scratching the whole plan, lets wait to hear what someone with more experience here has to say...Mojoreef ;)

Eliyah
 

MINIATUS

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 21, 2003
Messages
337
I will be installing them on the back of the tank, in between 2 pair of returns each from a SQWD water diverter.

MINIATUS:confused:
 

JWallace

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 14, 2004
Messages
57
Location
Mountlake Terrace
I am by no means an expert but did you ever think of a closed loop? How big is your sump? That will be a lot of water going through your sump to make it work efficiently.

Just a thought

Jonah
 

MINIATUS

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 21, 2003
Messages
337
Sump will be 16 wide 47 long and 14 deep. I will probably get 2 holes drilled each will have 1.5 return pipes to sump. So what you suggest then would requre 2 pumps not one. I was hoping to go with 1 but it might not be feasible.

MINIATUS:confused:
 

kevinpo

Expert
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Messages
2,287
Location
Spokane Valley, WA
The SQWD units really cut down on the flow. I estimate you will have about 1,800 GPH actually entering the tank. 2 - 1" bulkheads will easily handle that amount.

HTH,
Kevin
 

dnjan

alveopora
Joined
Sep 9, 2003
Messages
1,585
Location
Seattle
I believe Kevin is referring to using two 1" lines for the returns from the sump to the tank. Under pressure, return lines can handle lots of flow. But for the drain lines (gravity only), don't go with less than two 1-1/2" bulkheads. As for the actual hole size, it is safest to purchase (or at least specifically identify) the actual bulkheads you will be using and determine the hole size from them. Different bulkheads (different manufacturers, schedule 40 vs. schedule 80, etc.) can require different hole sizes, even though they are the same "size" bulkhead.
 

MINIATUS

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 21, 2003
Messages
337
Ok
Ive changed my tank size and gone back to the 90 gal tank. The makers of the tank gave me a few opinions on different ways to do this. This is based on overflow boxes and Linear measurement needed. I opted for a complete wall at the back 1 1/2 inches out and the complete depth and length of the tank Bulk heads and all will be install at the same time. It should be able to handle 2400+ gph. Did I make the right decission.

MINIATUS:rolleyes:
 

big t

tankless
Joined
Oct 21, 2003
Messages
1,914
Location
Denver
All you really need is overflows in the corners. My tank is flowing a little over 1000gph right now, w/ 1 overflow, it is a 90 g using 1 1.5 drain w/ a durso. It is quiet and uses about 1/2 of the height of the teeth right now. So that is a little over 1/2 inch. If you had 2 corner overflows and 2400gph it would be similar if you had a 1.5" drain in each corner. The problem you may have is keeping the bubbles in the sump and not going back into the tank.
 

MINIATUS

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 21, 2003
Messages
337
Big T
You must have the same tank as me, AGA reef ready with single overflow. I built a durso for mine. .

MINIATUS:D
 

big t

tankless
Joined
Oct 21, 2003
Messages
1,914
Location
Denver
Well I have the same size tank but mine is acrylic, I have no idea what company made it, but it is fairly high quality. I was going to add another overflow but decided that I would like the have the room in the tank for rock placement. I have a total of 4000gph of water turnover, 1000 thru the sump, and 3000 closed loop. These are advertised rates for my pumps, and I am sure they are somewhat less.
 
Your email address will not be publicly visible. We will only use it to contact you to confirm your post.

Latest posts

Top