having a problem using the pm feature

Help Support Reef Frontiers:

mfinn

Surgeonfish
Joined
May 31, 2004
Messages
6,901
Location
Olympia, WA
Today was the second time I went to open a pm and got a big all red webpage that said something a security warning and that there was a virus here.
Also said something about Chrome. I tried to copy and paste the text, but it wouldn't let me.
It happened last time I went to open a pm.
 

Scooterman

Administrator
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Messages
10,943
Location
Louisiana
Google has changed their requirements to be considered safe, Our site is clean but I'm working to meet Googles requirements so people don't get this warning. I'll update as I make progress on this issue.
 

Scooterman

Administrator
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Messages
10,943
Location
Louisiana
Ok I submitted a ticket to get this fixed, I moved it up to high lever so we can get it fixed asap, I'll update as I find out more.
 

Scooterman

Administrator
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Messages
10,943
Location
Louisiana
It isn't a virus, it is google new standards for security for sites that don't use ssl certificates, I'm getting this resolved so it will actually benefit the site in several ways regarding the forum email accounts that always gave you the warning.

I'll update progress as it happens
 

Scooterman

Administrator
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Messages
10,943
Location
Louisiana
Martin give it a try again and see if it is fixed, let me know.

FYI we're scanning the server also just to make sure we're safe.

Thanks
 

mfinn

Surgeonfish
Joined
May 31, 2004
Messages
6,901
Location
Olympia, WA
Something else has been happening.
When I checkout RF in the mornings, I go the main page and then click on the "What's New" tab and something weird happens.
It's like the page blinks. And that's when I notice another pop under page has loaded.
It's alway the same website. It's title is "International Business News"
It doesn't always happen, but just usually first thing in the morning, and it only happens here.
This morning it was this,


 

Scooterman

Administrator
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Messages
10,943
Location
Louisiana
Do you run any software to keep your browser running smooth, like a spyware remover? These programs attach cookies and track your movement from website to site and try to use that to pop up things like this. I use a couple and every week or so run them to clean up, it helps keep things running sooth. If you ever question what to use go to https://www.komando.com/ usually you can find good free ones to use.
 

mfinn

Surgeonfish
Joined
May 31, 2004
Messages
6,901
Location
Olympia, WA
Do you run any software to keep your browser running smooth, like a spyware remover? These programs attach cookies and track your movement from website to site and try to use that to pop up things like this. I use a couple and every week or so run them to clean up, it helps keep things running sooth. If you ever question what to use go to https://www.komando.com/ usually you can find good free ones to use.

I do run a spyware program every few months.
I use to run one continuously, but it presented an occasional problem.
 

Scooterman

Administrator
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Messages
10,943
Location
Louisiana
I'm going to add another scan to the site and see if maybe we can get an ad program remover installed here also, just in case.
 

mfinn

Surgeonfish
Joined
May 31, 2004
Messages
6,901
Location
Olympia, WA
It's not really that big of a thing. It's just weird.
AND it only happens in the morning when I get up and check out the internet. See if it needed me overnight.
I always go to King5 checkout local news, then check email, then come here and click on the "What's new" tab.
I see the RF webpage blick for a half a second, then go to the list of new posts.
But when I close my browser ( Chrome ), there is always the same pop under web page.
It does close normal. I have seen some that really resist being closed.
 

spieszak

Administrator
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
1,825
Location
Seattle
any chance you might be clicking on a image stored at photobucket by mistake? They are doing that popup crap all the time now. I won't go there unless absolutely necessary any more.
 

mfinn

Surgeonfish
Joined
May 31, 2004
Messages
6,901
Location
Olympia, WA
any chance you might be clicking on a image stored at photobucket by mistake? They are doing that popup crap all the time now. I won't go there unless absolutely necessary any more.
No, unless it is concealed under the " What's New" tab.
 

spieszak

Administrator
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
1,825
Location
Seattle
Figured as much, sometimes asking a specific question helps folks remember something, like the page not looking right, or things moving when they mouse over... *shrug*
 

mfinn

Surgeonfish
Joined
May 31, 2004
Messages
6,901
Location
Olympia, WA
Figured as much, sometimes asking a specific question helps folks remember something, like the page not looking right, or things moving when they mouse over... *shrug*
I kind of do the same thing in a certain order first thing in the morning. Check news on King5, email, RF. Once at RF click the new posts tab. It was at that exact moment, it's like the page refreshes itself, but what happens is a pop under page appears.
I have wondered where it came from so after every click of my mouse I would close everything to see if the page had appeared.
It was easy to narrow down since it was early in the morning.


But this morning it did not happen so maybe Scooterman fixed it.
 

spieszak

Administrator
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
1,825
Location
Seattle
I wish all people that asked for tech help were as detailed... that isn't what I'm used to reading. I agree, hopefully Scooterman got it
 

Scooterman

Administrator
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Messages
10,943
Location
Louisiana
I have scans automatic but I think it is progressive, not scanning older than a certain date, also some areas skipped as recommended. Every now and then a complete scan will result in little critters that like to spread everywhere, I have it auto updating also but even then I have to go check sometimes something happens and it stops, such reliable software LOL!
 

mfinn

Surgeonfish
Joined
May 31, 2004
Messages
6,901
Location
Olympia, WA
I spoke too soon. I checked in and the pop under page showed up.
I'll try some different malware programs to scan my pc again.
 

Scooterman

Administrator
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Messages
10,943
Location
Louisiana
It did it to me this morning, apparently I need to put in a support ticket and see what is going on, I scanned it, it worked for a while but didn't get the bug completely. It must of regrew into the system, I'll get the bugger.
 

mfinn

Surgeonfish
Joined
May 31, 2004
Messages
6,901
Location
Olympia, WA
It did it to me this morning, apparently I need to put in a support ticket and see what is going on, I scanned it, it worked for a while but didn't get the bug completely. It must of regrew into the system, I'll get the bugger.
The web page that comes up reminds me of something that you would see on yahoo when you click on a " sponsored" news stories.
 
Your email address will not be publicly visible. We will only use it to contact you to confirm your post.
Top