Quantcast

I am wanting to learn more about Calcium Reactors

Help Support Reef Frontiers:

Ed Hahn

Life is A Highway...
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
3,955
Location
Kennewick, Wa
I have been looking at Deltec Calcium Reactors and other Calcium Reactors. I am kinda confused how you can use Rowas in a Calcium Reactor. Why couldn't you do this in any other Calcium Reactor? I wonder what happens when a person runs out of Media or his CO2 runs out. What effect does this do to the tank? What signs besides Calcium and Alkalinity out of wack should I look for. When this happens is it a sudden change in perimeters, Could this shock my Tank? What ways besides using a Ph controller on my CO2 can prevent this?
Thanks in Advance,
Ed
 

john

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 7, 2004
Messages
62
Location
Kirkland
reactor

Ed I have been running my diy reactor for almost a year several weeks ago I found it had quit dripping so I opened the out flow vavle to flush it,(in a bucket) the media in the reactor lifted in a big chunk and the water in it became real cloudy after a day or two it quit dripping again so I changed the media which curred the problem, I would think that the plugging of the valve indicated that the media was pretty well depleted, last week saturday I found the ph in the reactor was climbing checked the co2 found the bottle empty I couldn't get get the bottle filled till tuesday, over this time frame I noticed only a gradual decrease in alk level which was easy to buffer back up, I can't answer the rowa question
 

DonW

R.I.P.
Joined
Dec 15, 2003
Messages
8,753
Location
Tacoma, WA
Ed IMO a calcium reactor is a great addition to any tank that would otherwise need additives. They make your life much easier. Every thing is in perfect balance CA, Alk and MG. IMO they are much better than dosing. The problem is that most people over complicate them and are overwelmed by this seemingly high-tech gizmo.
They are very simple device, easy to set up and use. No your tank wont crash when your run out of CO2. You do not need a ph controller. I would not buy a deltec just because the media is to hard to get ahold of. Although I do believe they are probably the best out there. Once you get one I think you'll wonder why you didnt buy one earlier.
You probably already monitor the PH on your tank. So just keep doing it. If you notice that at night the ph falls more than your comfort level, then drip a little kalk. Most of the reactors today are pretty efficient and will not dump co2 into your tank so its really not a concern. If you make it a habbit to make sure the drip rate is where you set it and the bubble count is staying in place, you should really only need to service it every 6 months or so. Sure beats dumping in two part additives that you could screw up and get things way out of wack.
Just remember not to overcomplicate the thing and youll be fine with just about any decent reactor.

Don
 

Ed Hahn

Life is A Highway...
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
3,955
Location
Kennewick, Wa
Thanks, I appreciate you sharing your experience. Keep it Simple-Very good Point.
I dose once a week. I just wanted to know what could happen as a worse case scenario. My little garden is going to expand so I want to be prepared. The Rowas media is expensive but what other benefits would come with use of it? What is your oppinion Chuck?
 

1diverdown

Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
8
Location
Kennett Square
Ed,

to clear some things up for you, i think you're confusing Rowaphos, which is a media used to remove phosphate, and Rowalith, the media used in the Deltec calcium reactors. rowalith is specifically designed to be fluidized (which creates greater contact time) and melt more efficiently than other media, as it is very light. it is highly recommended not to use any other media in a Deltec calcium reactor, as larger sized media may scratch the chamber severely when fluidized, or potentially permenently damage the recirculating pump should a large piece get caught in it.

the Deltec reactors are very powerful, and as such require some different methods of use. they should only be run 12 hrs per day, from the time the ph rises after the lights go on, to the time that the ph falls after they go off. because the reactor's dKH can easily get over 80, you need to be sure to monitor both reef and reactor dKH at least weekly. once the unit is set-up correctly, which isn't too difficult, you will have continuous trouble-free usage.

as for the situation with the rowalith media, i recently imported 1/2 a ton of it to my facility, and have another 1/2 ton arriving next week. there should not be an issue with availablility as i'm bringing it in on a regular basis.

you asked about a 'worse-case scenario' with a calcium reactor. if you have a reactor (any reactor) that CO2 is being fed into, and your pump fails so there is no effluent water coming out of the reactor, eventually you will create hydrogen sulphide gas (the 'rotten egg' smell) which can be quite toxic to your reef inhabitants. if this happens, flush your reactor with fresh water and restart it. there should be no problems after that. if you are using a timer for your reactor, just plug the solenoid into the timer to turn on and off the CO2, but not the feed pump. as indicated above, that should never turn off.

hth
Doug
Deltec USA
 

Ed Hahn

Life is A Highway...
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
3,955
Location
Kennewick, Wa
Doug,
So you would recommend a Ph controller with any calcium reactor. You do not recommend running your calcium reactor any more than 12 hours a day. 12 hours is my photo period time. If your pump locks up then you can poison your inhabitants. That is something I never thought of. It definitely helped.
Thanks for your time Doug
Sincerely
Ed Hahn
 

1diverdown

Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
8
Location
Kennett Square
Ed,

no, i do not recommend a ph controller, just a ph monitor and a timer. i think the controller is unnecessary. if you get a rector that you can put a ph monitor in (like most of the Deltec reactors) you can monitor the ph that way, and it shouldn't move too much from the set point. then run your CO2 on a 12 hr cycle. to compensate for the night time drop in ph, drip kalk.

hth
Doug
 

ROWAUSA

Sales Guy
Joined
Nov 10, 2004
Messages
103
Location
CA
Yes, but from someone who has installed many Deltec Calcium Reactors, including one last night on a fabulous 300 gallon reef tank, all you really need is a good dKH test kit when using a Deltec reactor.
 

Ed Hahn

Life is A Highway...
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
3,955
Location
Kennewick, Wa
Hey, Do we get Discounts for BEING LOYAL REEF FRONTIERS People? I love your stuff. I just would have to work two jobs to pay for it. I wish I could talk you guys into coming to PNWMAC in August this year and explaining your products. I for one could use the Education on your products. I am thankful you guys are here to explain this stuff. I guess I should not push it.
Thanks in Advance,
Ed
 

1diverdown

Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
8
Location
Kennett Square
Bruce...is that you?????

thanks for the call today if it is. your stuff shipped out today fedex ground.

anyway, because the reactor dKH can get close to 80, which is out of the range of almost all test kits, it helps to have a ph monitor in the reactor so you can keep the ph between 6.2-6.4, which is optimal for rowalith burn. you will still need a good test kit to make sure your reef dKH doesn't get above 10-11.

Ed....what exactly do you need info on? i would be more than happy to explain anything you want. give me a call at 877-335-8321 and i'll do what i can to help you out. btw, you foot the bill, and i'll come out to PNWMAC and explain Deltec products for as long as you like.

hth
Doug
 

ROWAUSA

Sales Guy
Joined
Nov 10, 2004
Messages
103
Location
CA
yep, it's me. 80 dKH, holy mackerel :) , but you are correct. It's a good idea to watch that pH.
 

Ed Hahn

Life is A Highway...
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
3,955
Location
Kennewick, Wa
I have been taught on here that a fluidize calcium reactor is going to be more effient due to contact time of media, the larger calcium reactor with more media does not need to be filled as often (easier to use), Reverse flow usually works better than top flow from another thread on RF. I know these are all opinions, But I feel very good ones. Now the question is ...Where can a person buy Rowalith for a fluidized calcium reactor?
 

1diverdown

Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
8
Location
Kennett Square
Ed,

you can buy it from me. it's been in NYC waiting for homeland security to x-ray the container it's in for the last 8 days. i should have it here by monday. drop me a line and let me know how much you want.

Doug
 

ROWAUSA

Sales Guy
Joined
Nov 10, 2004
Messages
103
Location
CA
You can also buy it from me as well. Check out the http://www.rowausa.com site for info on ROWAlith C+.

Ed Hahn said:
I have been taught on here that a fluidize calcium reactor is going to be more effient due to contact time of media, the larger calcium reactor with more media does not need to be filled as often (easier to use), Reverse flow usually works better than top flow from another thread on RF. I know these are all opinions, But I feel very good ones. Now the question is ...Where can a person buy Rowalith for a fluidized calcium reactor?
 
Your email address will not be publicly visible. We will only use it to contact you to confirm your post.

Latest posts

Top