Quantcast

More progress diy aquarium controller

Help Support Reef Frontiers:

Katchupoy

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 9, 2003
Messages
2,188
Location
Kent 98031
cant wait... been following this project for months now.... just hope that the cost is way way low compared to expensive ones...

good luck...
 

Scooterman

Administrator
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Messages
10,943
Location
Louisiana
Very nice work, that is so clean wanareef, I've seen some nasty ones out there, like the ones I use to diddle with long ago! I'd like to see the functions & what it can controll as compared to the already premade units you buy.
 

wanareef

reefer addict
Joined
Aug 26, 2003
Messages
250
Location
Portland, OR
"Well, the way it is working out currently is you will have up to 21 outlets controllable by anything on the controller...16 X-10 outlets and 5 direct Relays.
So you can have fans, heaters, pumps, lights or whatever controlled by Time, Date, pH, ORP, Tank Temp, or Room Temp. So you will be able to set it up however you like.
Hope that is good news...
SWN"



"Well, the ballpark is still under construction lol, but my best guestimate at this point is about $75 to $125 if you build it from the ground up yourself. This does not include the $30 internet interface or the X-10 interface(also about $30).

The code is coming along...don't hold me to this, but maybe by mid January the main code for everything except the internet interface will be finished. Then Mark is going to lay-out the actual board.

Thanks for the interest,
SWN"



hth :)
 
Last edited:

Scooterman

Administrator
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Messages
10,943
Location
Louisiana
What amperage rating are the relays, or is this something I can add myself? That sounds awesome, and better than the pre made, as long as it can handle the power of all that equipment loaded. I'm guessing you will also have to sort of protection built into it, breaker/s or fuse/s. That is the type of controller I'd really be interested in, I was thinking of buying a PLC and let one of out programmers do the logic for me, I'm sure I could twist their hands into this neat project, I'd also wanted to add an HMI, it would be so nice to have direct access, I could do the graphics myself. I really like what I've seen so far & can't wait to see the complete package, The Internet stuff is cool but I'm not as concerned with that as much and the control system itself, remote access later can be dealt with but glad your planning and leaving room for it also.
 

wanareef

reefer addict
Joined
Aug 26, 2003
Messages
250
Location
Portland, OR
scoot

I'll have to dig into that, I thought they were 20amps but could and probably am wrong. If you look on his home page, about 1/4 way down, he has a site for q&a or you can email him here: Kevin Carson <kcarson@coastalnow.net>
I was never the eminjeer, just a draftsman that redrew schematics and did board design- when I was in the field. :rolleyes:
 
Last edited:

Scooterman

Administrator
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Messages
10,943
Location
Louisiana
Ok, thanks! I do a lot of drafting also, I'm a high paid cad operator or Electronics designer as they call me, lol with a electronics technical degree, I've been working with Electrical engineers about 16 or so years now.
 

wanareef

reefer addict
Joined
Aug 26, 2003
Messages
250
Location
Portland, OR
I worked for Fujitsu - Telecom Division Anaheim , CA CAD Operator as well or Senior Designer Product Engineer. Sure sucked when the gov cut back on the defense budget back in the 80's.

Are you heavy into SMD's or still through hole?

It's nice, that you can "sample" in parts for the hobby from the vendors.
 
Last edited:

Scooterman

Administrator
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Messages
10,943
Location
Louisiana
Not at all, I'm more into control systems, SCADA, oilfield related. That was in a past life, I worked for a small electronics firm in New Hampshire lol.
 

Katchupoy

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 9, 2003
Messages
2,188
Location
Kent 98031
Wannareef, nice to have met you.

Hmmm.... CAD people here? thats great... Im also into that.
CAD Manager for the past 10 years, but in Architectural field. We also do telecom switches buildings and wireless facilities.

amazing...
 

Zephrant

Engineer
Joined
Feb 13, 2004
Messages
120
Location
Spokane, WA
Sheesh- They are coming out of the wood-work. :) I used to be CAD manager for Wagstaff- That was back on AutoCAD 9-11 though, so in the old days.

I've got some experience in board layout (up to 8 layers) in SMT too if anyone needs a little bit of work done sometime.

Zeph
 

szidls

Gaitor Wrestler
Joined
Nov 27, 2003
Messages
794
Location
Lynnwood
Hey not lookin to steal the thread but.........Do any of you Big Dog engimineering types know of a "Simple" pc drawing program? I'm just a sheet metal worker with basic PAD (pencil aided drawing) skills. :rolleyes: I'm trying to draw the plumbing for my 150 gal.
Thanks.........Scott
 

wanareef

reefer addict
Joined
Aug 26, 2003
Messages
250
Location
Portland, OR
Any CAD drawing program that FRYS (forever returning your s@%t)might carry for cheap will work, or maybe you can borrow one from someone close by.
You could always break out the crayons heh heh :rolleyes:
 
Your email address will not be publicly visible. We will only use it to contact you to confirm your post.

Latest posts

Top