Quantcast

No sandbed?

Help Support Reef Frontiers:

idgy

Ok, so I just use live rock and I cover the whole tank with this live rock. Do I need to clean up after the fish or is that what the cleaner crew is for?

I guess what I am trying to say is with the live rock covering most of the bottom of the tank how would you clean up the fish waste? I am sure you can not constantly keep moving the live rock around the tank?

Do the fish need a sandbed?

Please forgive my stupidity I am new to this live rock and sandbed thing and want to make sure I do not kill any marine life by not knowing the ins and outs of taking care of marine life.

Thanks!

dnjan

alveopora
Some fish need a a sandbed (Rainfordi's gobie, etc.).

Concerning cleaning up waste with no sandbed - there are two general approaches:

Option 1 - due to water movement, the detritus will tend to accumulate in specific places. You regularly siphon it out.

Option 2 - you have sufficient water movement to keep the detritus in suspension until it goes over your overflow to your sump (and you deal with it there).

Many people with no sandbeds try for Option 2, and use Option 1 for the detritus that settles out anyway.

fishermann