Quantcast

Plumbing a 75 Gal. AGA RR tank for Bare Bottom

Help Support Reef Frontiers:

pro_builder

Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2003
Messages
16
I am wanting to plumb my tank and setup for Bare Bottom tank, and keep SPS.
I have looked a t mojosreef pics and info. I still don't understand a few questions.
1: I can't drill my back glass. The tank is already setup. Plus, we don't have anyone within a 100 miles that can drill a tank.

2: Can this be setup so that all plumbing can go over the top?
3: Do I need to run a larger Skimmer for this style of a setup?
4: Does anyone have any drawings of a 75 that they have setup this way?
5: In my signature you can see what I already have on the tank, can I use any of this for this new setup?
Thanks in advance.

I am currently running a 75 gallon Reef Ready AGA Tank, DIY Stand, DIY Sump (40 Breeder Tank), 150 lbs. LR, 5" DSB, Refugium w/ DSB (4"), Nilsen Reactor (DIY and 54" tall x 6" tube), (1640 GPH) running 1200 GPH (at the tank w/ SCWD) Return Pump, 220 watts PC 03 (DIY), 2- 250 watt MH DIY w/ XM 10K Bulbs, 2- 4" Computer fans
 

MtnDewMan

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 27, 2003
Messages
2,290
Location
Mukilteo, WA
I run a 75 gallon SPS acrylic tank. I have a drilled back for a closed loop, but you can run a closed loop by using a U-Tube over the back to a pump and then the output of the pump back over the back to some outlets. As long as the input of the u-tube is low enough in the water, it will always be submerged even during a power outage and thus will not lose a siphon.

Check out my website link and you will see basically how my tank is setup for my SPS tank.

Good Luck
 

big t

tankless
Joined
Oct 21, 2003
Messages
1,914
Location
Denver
Hey Pro builder, nice to see ya over here on our little forum! WELCOME Reedman has a closed loop setup with no bulkheads. He has a ampmaster 3k in his hood! I think it would be pretty easy to setup a system like what you want, but it may not be as pretty as if you had the back drilled. A large skimmer is recommended for a system of this type because it has to work harder on extracting nutrients. You can use all your current equipment with your new setup no problem!

HTH

Tom
 

Stang69

OFR!
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Messages
268
Location
Washington
Maybe this will help for the closed loop

http://www.sparklingfloorservice.com/melevsreef/how_to_build.html


Here is a pic of it all together

http://www.sparklingfloorservice.com/tank/closedloop.html


Hope this helps some

Jeff
 

pro_builder

Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2003
Messages
16
Jeff- Thanks for the pics, that looks like a system that I am going to have to run.

BigT- Nice to see you over here too. I have just been so busy that I haven't had time to post or be over here much. But, I really like the site. It is nice to see farmiliar faces over here too. Thanks for all your help. I have a CPR SR-9 that is retro fitted with a Eductor setup and a Rio 3100 pump. So, I think I will keep that skimmer. Seems to be working great.

MtnDewMan- You have a very nice tank setup!!! I wish I would have known about the DSB problem before I got mine all setup. This tank was setup w/ DSB since that was what everyone was doing, and has always worked for me.

I still have one or two more questions.
1: should you have the return on the CLS towards the bottom?
2: should there be a spraybar behind the LR to help keep the detirus flushed out?
3: How much flow are you looking for Ideally? I know it is hard to keep a DSB with over 15 times turnover. I am right on the edge of that now.
Thanks for all the great info and help everyone.
 

reedman

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 30, 2003
Messages
3,255
Location
Mukilteo, WA
pro_builder,

As bigT said, I have an ampmaster 3000 running as a closed loop on a plain-jane 75 gallon glas tank. No holes drilled and the pump actually sits on the ground, not in the canopy. As far as where the ouputs should go...the closest I get to the sandbed is about halfway between the sand and the waters surface. Any closer and I have a permanent snow storm. I have found that if you keep the output at a lower velocity (i.e. bigger diameter pipe) and higher flow you get plenty of flow without blowing sand everywhere.

A spraybar behind the live rock is nice if you plan to suck out the detritus that is pushed to the front or it exits via an overflow. If not, I wouldn't bother (just my opinion).

As far as ideal flow... :rolleyes: ...I know that if I can put more in I will. I would love to add another pump to my system and I am already at probably 2700 gallon per hour flow (that's 36x turnover). SPS love flow, but you have to balance it with practicality and the other inhabitants. In a 75 gallon, if you are going to have any fish you have to keep them in mind too. I have seen my clowns go flying across the tank when they hit the output. No harm done, but if the whole tank looks like a toilet bowl, I think there would be harm done.

-Reed
 

pro_builder

Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2003
Messages
16
Here is my piliminary drawing of what I want to do, when I goto a BB tank.
Do you see anything that should change?
 

Katchupoy

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 9, 2003
Messages
2,188
Location
Kent 98031
Hi Pro_builder,

Welcome, I too also have a barebottom glass tank with no bulkheads. But I only have a 25gallon (before). So I also used a closed loop design taken from Melevsreef design...






And also, can you email me the preliminary design? can't see anything...
Also, if you can make your intake for the CLS the lowest you can do that would be great... there are really stubborn and heavy stuff out there not wont just move. (that's only my 2 cents). This way you can keep your bottom clean.... Of course sometimes a little help from the turkey baster will do...





thanks
 

pro_builder

Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2003
Messages
16
Katchupoy
You should have email. I sent you the drawing, it is in JPG format. I also have it in CAD too if you want that.
Thanks, Troy
 

Katchupoy

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 9, 2003
Messages
2,188
Location
Kent 98031
anytime...

How do you connect your CLS intake... is the pump inside the tank?

Suggestion...

connect the spraybar from the pump from the refugium... and then the CSL will be dedicated to the left and right outlets...

dont even need a SCWD from your refugium... just directly to your spraybar... just make sure you have a breather hole just above the water line so that when there is power outages the siphon will break....

just put the two scwd to your mag 1200...
 
Your email address will not be publicly visible. We will only use it to contact you to confirm your post.
Top