Quantcast

questions on setting up new tank

Help Support Reef Frontiers:

wcwaldmn

I've been running a 180 gallon reef for a few years now. Its an old das tank with the internal filter removed with 180 llbs of live rock and a hang on turboflotor skimmer, but unable to run sump as unable to drill tank. Running 6 six foot VHO's. Mostly softies and a few lps corals. In the process of buying an Oceanic 215 Gallon reef ready tank with 58 gallon sump.

Want to set it up right at the start. Planning on some clams, and probbaly gonna give sps a go. First question is what would your opinion of the lighting be. I know it will be MH, but what would be the best setup. And how about the skimmer. It has worked well, but should I be considering a different one that would be more effecient. Cost is no object. Want to do it right

mojoreef

Reef Keeper
Hey WC welcome to Reef Frontiers!!

Lighting can be a tough subject. Thier are always going to be comprimises, all growth, all color, combination of the two, pleasent to the eye and so on. Personally I have tried alot of lighting combos and bulb types. I have chosen to stay with the 400 watt 20K radium and 250 watt hqi 10K's. I feel this combination still gives me great growth and the colors are the best I have experenced with sps and clams. SO for your tank I would suggest 2 400 watt 20K radiums on the outsides and a 250 watt hqi 10K xm/ushio dead center. If in a canopy spread the reflector of the 10K flat and it will blend the color well.
On the skimmer that is going to be part of your overall filtration concept. So its best to know what filtration method your going to be using. An example of mine is that I run BB and the skimmer is a critical component in the exportation of nutrients. A person with a DSB type system is only going to get a small percentage of the nutrients out as the balance will go to the bed, thus the skimmer does not serve the same critical nature

Mike

wcwaldmn

Thanks for the reply