Quantcast

ro/di unit and cold seattle water

Help Support Reef Frontiers:

mattseattle

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 15, 2003
Messages
2,694
Location
Seattle, WA
what does everyone do in order to get tap water up to the temperature that allows their membrane to produce water efficiently? the water coming out of my cold water tap is about 50 - 55 degrees. brrrrrr
 

esmith

AQUAMANIAC
Joined
Oct 9, 2003
Messages
451
Location
Shoreline, WA
I read that to optimize the filtration capacity you need the water to be about 65 degrees. So I have my RO system hooked up to the faucet via a screw on adaptor which conects to the faucet itself, this way I can mix the hot & cold water to a desireable temperature.

If you already have this connect to the riser for the faucect I heard that you can use an extra long hose to the RO unit, and coil the hose in a bucket filled with extra hot water. This is supposed to help bring up the temperature, but it seems like a lot of work every time you need to make water.

Hope this helps, I would also like to know what others do because I would eventualy like to install this under the sink.

Eliyah
 

mattseattle

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 15, 2003
Messages
2,694
Location
Seattle, WA
yeah i didn't have the faucet adapter so i used the adapter they provided to tap into the cold water line below the sink. i guess i'll order the faucet adapter in order to mix the hot/cold water.

i just installed my ro/di unit yesterday so i didn't know what to expect using the cold water. today i made water and i had a ton of waste water in comparison to output so i thought it had to be using just cold water. the instructions stated it's best for the membrane to use water from 70 - 77 F for optimal output.
 

esmith

AQUAMANIAC
Joined
Oct 9, 2003
Messages
451
Location
Shoreline, WA
I tried the cold water out once, and I was amazed at the amount of waste. Once I read that it was supposed to be above 70 I immediately switched.
I also read that it is not only required for the membrane, but that when the water is at higher temperatures you can make more faster.

I don't understand why they give you just one adaptor, I think that it would be best to get one that could attach to both the hot and cold with a valve for mixing. I guess you could always just make your own without too much trouble...hmmmm I think that I will do that when I hook this up under the sink.
 

Gordo

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 27, 2003
Messages
398
Location
Olympia, WA
Matt,

I have mine setup like yours and it's been running on the same filters for almost a year. TDS is still 0. I'm not sure about the difference in wastewater.

Eliyah,

Did you notice a difference in the amount of wastewater produced when the water temperature was higher?

~Gordo~
 

esmith

AQUAMANIAC
Joined
Oct 9, 2003
Messages
451
Location
Shoreline, WA
Yes it was less, but I don't know exactly how much. I only know that it takes less than half the amount of time to refil the holding tank when the water temperature is higher.

Although I have read that it requires about 5 gallons to make 1 gallon filtered.
 

Fragman

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 5, 2003
Messages
261
Location
Edgewood, WA
Here's another idea

You are right about the temperature making a huge difference in RO unit production. Be aware that hooking directly to the hot water that will melt/damage the membrane.

I was considering adding an in-line heater module. I used to have a "Lifeguard" unit. I wish that I had kept it. Hooking one of these units between the cold water source and the RO unit would allow you to raise the incoming temperature. The question is would it be enough of a temperature increase???

Paul H.
 

esmith

AQUAMANIAC
Joined
Oct 9, 2003
Messages
451
Location
Shoreline, WA
Well what I was thinking was tapping both the hot and cold water supplies, then having them both connect to another valve (something with two inputs and two valves) out of which I could adjust the amount of incoming water for each hot & cold. Essentially I would almost have another faucet underneath the sink, and I wouldn't have to continually have to divert the water everytime I needed water.

Eliyah
 

big t

tankless
Joined
Oct 21, 2003
Messages
1,914
Location
Denver
You could coil a bunch of supply line up in a 5 gallon bucket, fill it w/ water and use a aquarium heater in it to warm up the water. I saw someone to that on one of the boards. HTH
 

mattseattle

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 15, 2003
Messages
2,694
Location
Seattle, WA
yeah i read that but i don't have the space under my kitchen sink to have a bucket and a heater. guess i'll get the faucet adapter and that way i can control it that way.
 

csleeman

Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2003
Messages
11
Location
Everett
well I have tried the hot bucket method and got about a 1 to 4 gallon ratio then I did just cold and got a 1 to 4.5. I and the time was not much different.

You would think that with cold water your membrane would contract creating even greater filtration :) If you use hot you expand and it lets more waste in.

ON a side note the "Waste" water is still awesome, I have been tempted to unplug my line and save it for drinking water :) After all it has went through 3 carbon blocks, that’s better then right out of the tap IMHO.

-Chad
 

Fragman

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 5, 2003
Messages
261
Location
Edgewood, WA
RO info

I have found that besides keeping the prefilter and carbon cart. clean; good water presure is more critical than anything else in optimizing efluent output. Last year at my old appartment the water pressure was about 30-35psi. When I moved my new place has 65psi, It Rocks!!!

Kent makes a step-up pressure pump if your pressure sucks. These pumps are designed to take the pressure up to 80psi. I think that they are somewhere in the ball park of $150????

Paul H.
 

esmith

AQUAMANIAC
Joined
Oct 9, 2003
Messages
451
Location
Shoreline, WA
I actually found a place that sells permeate pump that you can hook up to your system to maximize output. It uses the wastewater to increase the pressure in the line and to utilize the wastewater.

Here is a link to a system with the pump included. I believe that the pump sells for around $140.
http://www.purewaterplanet.com/aspages/getproduct.asp?item=819

I haven't tried this myself, but plan on purchasing one when I transfter my setup under the sink.

Enjoy,

Eliyah
 
Your email address will not be publicly visible. We will only use it to contact you to confirm your post.
Top