Quantcast

Seattle and RO/DI

Help Support Reef Frontiers:

johnehr

Ignorant and Oblivious
Joined
Sep 19, 2004
Messages
210
Location
Seattle
I have tons of live rock and am going to have small fish, no big predators or large angels. I might go corals or get a BTA. Im just worried because my nitrates are at 20ppm with just my LR. (There was some die off...)
 

jazznreef

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 30, 2003
Messages
219
Location
Seattle/Magnolia
if you think you're going to have corals and other non fish animals then i would suggest a water filter. they are reasonably priced in relation to the problems and expenses that come with city water. you can find a good quality one for 100-200 depending on how big your tank is and how quick you will need the water to be produced. as for nitrates in your system, do you have a skimmer in your system? what else besides rock is doing the tank filtering?
 

RockyHeap

Evil Genius
Joined
Jun 30, 2003
Messages
232
Location
Sultan, Wa
Before you jump on the gadget band wagon, I'd do a test on the tap water to check for phosphates and such.

I used a R0/DI for a while, and got tired of the slow flow even from a 60 gallon per day Kent unit. Sold it off and haven't had any problems using even well water right out of the ground.

Water is pretty good quality around the Seattle area. Other areas of the country its so hard and loaded with minerals its like trying to drink a rock.
 

johnehr

Ignorant and Oblivious
Joined
Sep 19, 2004
Messages
210
Location
Seattle
Whats CEDAR?

I have 120 lbs of live rock. Sump with wet dry trickle over bio balls. Small skimmer. A fluval 404 I havent set up yet.
 

WaterDogs

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 5, 2003
Messages
374
Location
Snohomish, WA
I use the local water here in Marysville and it's not bad, it tests zero on nitrates and phosphates but you will get brown algae from it. I use a RO/DI now which also removes all the good stuff too from the tap water, that part I don't like. There is phosphates in the water it's that hobby kits don't detect it.
 

NaH2O

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 25, 2004
Messages
8,568
johnehr - Welcome to Reef Frontiers! I can't speak about the water in Seattle, but IMO, RO/DI water is an important part of a tank. You can get things like copper from pipes, that would be removed by the unit, not to mention the phosphates.
 

jojo

Well-known member
Joined
May 4, 2004
Messages
77
Location
federal way, wa
I would say using ro/di water is very important if you plan on keeping any corals. If you dont want to front the money for a unit you can buy ro/di from below sea level in Seattle for 25cents a gallon. Also safeway sells di water for like 39cents a gallon.
 

RockyHeap

Evil Genius
Joined
Jun 30, 2003
Messages
232
Location
Sultan, Wa
Its one of those things like dosing supplements...........

I always used to dose Iodine........"everyone" said to do it to plump up the soft corals or mushrooms.......so I did dose it for years, then stopped, and you know what, same great over-abundant growth with them tripping over each other......

Same with Stronium, and other "needed reef builders".......

Everyone says you "have" to use Ro/Di water......until I stopped and my corals, sps, lps, zoo's, shrooms, are still thriving.....

We all have different conditions, and no two tanks or environments are the same.

I just hate seeing myself or others spending hundreds or thousands of dollars on un-needed equipment.

Less technology more biology.

Use what works for you.
 

johnehr

Ignorant and Oblivious
Joined
Sep 19, 2004
Messages
210
Location
Seattle
Anyone know why my nitrates would be 20ppm? (Would new cured live rock do this by themselves? I dont have any fish.) Is that really high? I think I need to get it down... I was thinking that maybe there was a high level of nitrates in the water around seattle, thats why I asked this question.
 

DonW

R.I.P.
Joined
Dec 15, 2003
Messages
8,753
Location
Tacoma, WA
The LR will do it. How long has your tank been cycling. I would get an rodi unit, just one thing you wont have to question later when you do have a problem. You dont need to buy an expensive marine unit. A regular houshold unit with the filters changed to low micron is fine. But I really dought that this is your problem, this time around. Sounds more like new tank syndrone or possibly the bio balls.

Don
 
Your email address will not be publicly visible. We will only use it to contact you to confirm your post.

Latest posts

Top