Quantcast

Still new with questions...

Help Support Reef Frontiers:

Gimpster

I am fairly new to this wonderful hobby and started with an established reef, it's over 1 year old. Every thing in the tank seems to be doing great except my colony of star polyps which have been knocked around by my cleaning crew and no longer come out. I am not holding my breath on them.

My questions are these:

First, ever since I cleaned my Skilter, (not my first choice n skimmers but it came with the setup), it has not been producing skimmate. Just today I did the modification to it to hopfuly get it to produce. Is this normal or is my tank just really really clean?

Second, this 10g setup came with a 96w 50/50 antic PC Quad by coralife. Is this over kill for a 10g? I was thinking of moving up to a 20g and using the 10g as a quarntine tank.

Third, I do not currently use any supliments like C-Balance or others, should I be? The guy at the LFS which I do not trust is not just trying to make a sale, said I should use it to provide the needed trace elements that the corals and coraline algea need.

Forth, right now I only have softies in my reef, some polyps, a group of whiteish thing that the LFS I trust said was Xinti (sp) and lots of mushrooms. Well there is also a Percula Clown, a Skipper Blennie, the cleaning crew and cleaner shrimp and soon a Lawnmower Blennie to take care of the green hair algea. Right now I am just feeding flake once a day and twice a week I am also feeding Mycis (sp) Shrimp, is there anything else I should be feeding for the softies and other corals I might get in the future?

Thank for all the help.

plumber_bob

Gimpster,