Quantcast

zoanthids closed. any idea why???

Help Support Reef Frontiers:

reedman

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 30, 2003
Messages
3,255
Location
Mukilteo, WA
The title pretty well says it. I have two separate colonies of the same zoanthids. Both have been closed for several days without any obvious irritant. I have onther species of zoanthids that are just fine.

Any thoughts on what would cause them to close up?

I also have a bunch of SPS corals that look just fine.

Thanks,
-Reed
 

NaH2O

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 25, 2004
Messages
8,568
Hey Reed...I'm sure you already checked, but I'll ask for others looking for information... Have you checked for the Heliacus sp. snail, or zoo eating nudis?

How long have the colonies been in their current location?
 

reedman

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 30, 2003
Messages
3,255
Location
Mukilteo, WA
Thanks for the response Nikki. I haven't seen any of the predators in my tank. The colonies have been in there current locations for well over a year now. They have spread and seemed happy until recently. I can't think of anything that I have really changed that would cause this in just the zoos.
 

reedman

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 30, 2003
Messages
3,255
Location
Mukilteo, WA
Haven't had any change in flow...good thought though. I will keep an eye out for any predatory snails or nudibranchs.

Thanks everyone. Keep the ideas coming if you have anymore.

I will try to post some pics this weekend.
 

kc

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 9, 2003
Messages
92
Location
Seattle
reedman, have you zoo open up yet? I have the same issue too,
and has no idea what is the problem.
 

reedman

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 30, 2003
Messages
3,255
Location
Mukilteo, WA
Some are looking like they want to, but none are open like the used to yet. Very strange. I will be moving the tank soon, so I suspect that will either cure them or kill them. Time will tell.

Good luck with yours kc.

-Reed
 

Ed Hahn

Life is A Highway...
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
3,955
Location
Kennewick, Wa
Reed,
Do you have a temperature monitoring device in your tank? What kind of testing have you done? Do you use RO or DI or filtered water? Certain times of year water has more phospates from Tap. Do you have animals eating them like butterflys, angels, crabs? My guess would be water quality. I would assume nitrates are high. I would do a particial water change.
Wait a about 4 hours and test again. Lots of times people do water changes and do not prep their water before putting it in the tank. Make sure to mix salt mix with powerhead and use a heater to keep it as close of temp as the tank you are adding to. I use my sump to add top off water. That way you are not adding extra stress to animals. Any time you put your hand in the tank and move a rock, coral, you are adding stress to their environment. You want to do as little a change as possible not to stress animals. I am sure you know all this. But sometimes people over look the basics such as temp, salinity, etc. I did this a few times. I am fool that soon learned. I hope you are not doing what I did. I wish you luck. Please let me know what you find out.
 

reedman

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 30, 2003
Messages
3,255
Location
Mukilteo, WA
Hey Ed,

The temp is monitored pretty closely and has been running between 79 and 82. This is the same as it's always been. I mainly test Alk, Calc, Salinity and occasionaly Nitrates. Nitrates have been low for some time (<5ppm) and the other parameters are in line with what I am shooting for (Calc ~400, Alk ~9dKh, Sal 1.026).

Thanks for the ideas. I will be moving the whole setup next weekend, so maybe it will settle in again after that.

-Reed
 

Ed Hahn

Life is A Highway...
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
3,955
Location
Kennewick, Wa
I keep hoping someone will make the same mistake I made. I am sorry Reed. I had temp issue. My water tested very good. My temp would swing at night around 9-930 pm. I went crazy trying to figure out why my acros went astray. I kept looking at my thermometer and it would read about the same. My friends have devices that monitor the temp pretty closely. They told me.
That was my issue. I do not have a PC running my equipment telling all the temps at certain times. I do have a audible alarm if temps get out of range I desire now. It was a eye opener. It was a expensive lesson so to speak. I lost a Walt Smith and a few others until learning that.

losing a few corals that were pretty expensive and rare...frustrating....
learning from others or sharing what you have learned ...Priceless
 

reedman

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 30, 2003
Messages
3,255
Location
Mukilteo, WA
Ed, they look like they may be opening up a bit. Not back to their former glory, but some progress. I may have had some chemical warfare going on in the tank. Time will tell.
 

Alice

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 18, 2003
Messages
1,108
How are they doing now, Reed?

My zoos never liked it when the alk would get out of wack.
 

reedman

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 30, 2003
Messages
3,255
Location
Mukilteo, WA
Hey Alice.

I think it might be the Alk that is doing it. I have been slowly raising it and they are beginning to open. I have a hard time keeping my Alk level high enough right now. I can keep the Calc up to 400, but the Alk likes to top out at about 8 dKH. I guess a calcium reactor is in my future.

-Reed
 

Ed Hahn

Life is A Highway...
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
3,955
Location
Kennewick, Wa
I would recomend it. Mag level affects Calcium/alk . I bet that will fix your Zoos. I would bet the Biggest Baddest POP you could find on it? I am sticking my hand out now waiting for you to gamble on it?
 
Your email address will not be publicly visible. We will only use it to contact you to confirm your post.
Top